Admin Assistant 

(Female, Age 40) from Mesa, AZ

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 40 who works as a Admin Assistant in Mesa, AZ. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Admin Assistant
Salary $12,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 25
Company Size (not answered)
Location Mesa, AZ
Years Experience 6 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Plumbing company

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Answer phones, data entry, invoicing, payments recieved, bank deposits, etc.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with the employees, and only speak on the phone to customers. I enjoy it.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work alone in an office.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 4

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
submitted online resume, came in for interview and filled out paper application.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. One interview with the owner of the company.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Experience, typing speed, hours of availability.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. He made sure I understood my duties before having me work alone.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I worked with the admin who had already been here for 5 years.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. I learned office skills as I worked in other jobs, not in school.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Learn office skills.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
typing, computer prof, customer service skills, basic office technology

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be honest, be detail oriented, and be efficient.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no. I’d like to be working full time.

What are your current career goals?
Work full time.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Front Desk 5 years 14000 Answered phones, data entry, intake of animal surrenders, animal adoptions.
Prior Job 2 CNA 3 years 22000 cared for elderly residents in nursing home.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.4

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.1 SIUE English
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.