Sales Associate 

(Female, Age 26) from Union City, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Sales Associate in Union City, CA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Sales Associate
Salary $10,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 25
Company Size (not answered)
Location Union City, CA
Years Experience 6 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Sears Holdings Corporation. Sears is a very large national company that specializes in appliances primarily, but also in numerous other departments as well including apparel, jewelry, home fashions, mattresses, vacuums, electronics, and autobile care.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I sell mattresses and work in the home fashions department.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. I love working and interacting with my co-workers. We are a team, and we help each other out.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Sears retail store in a mall. I love working here because this is such a diverse environment.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 8
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
Internet or electronic application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I had one interview. It was a group interview, and the human resources supervisor asked a series of questions to each interviewee.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked why I wanted to work at Sears, what retail experience I have had, do I enjoy working with others, do I communicate well and effectively, and do I love challenges.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes of course.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No, there was not much training. We only had to learn how to use the registers and how to sell mattresses by memorizing the components of each mattress. The majority of the job required us to use our communication skills, which I gladly used.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes of course.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
No internship experience.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
All they have to do is apply, and have a real enthusiasm to work with otheres. They can either apply online at or go into any Sears store location in the United States. It’s that simple!

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Customer service skills and a good and friendly heart!

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be prepared to speak with many different people from all walks of life.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I plan to go into business, and this is wonderful preparation for that field.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to own my own small business in the future, and working at Sears has well prepared me because I have gained substantial customer service experience.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.