Tutor (Female, Age 25) in Channelview, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 25 who works as a Tutor in Channelview, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Tutor
Salary $20,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Channelview, TX
Years Experience 6 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Houston ISD

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I tutor 9th grade students in algebra.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks of vacation and sick leave, health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes and I enjoy that part of my job

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a classroom at a school.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 5
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Arrive at work and tutor my first student in algebra.
8am to 9am Tutor students in algebra.
9am to 10am Tutor students in algebra.
10am to 11am Tutor students in algebra.
11am to 12pm Lunch break
12pm to 1pm Tutor students in algebra.
1pm to 2pm Tutor students in algebra.
2pm to 3pm Tutor students in algebra.
3pm to 4pm Leave Work.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
electronic application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, it was one interview and an assessment to test my math knowledge

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I can not remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
My employer did somewhat prepare me for my job.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There was a two week long training for my current position, which took place directly before the school year began.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I feel like my educational background does help me with dealing with the people in my current job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Have a bachelors degree and the willingness to work with children

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills, math skills, and people skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
To make sure that is what they want to do.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No because I still want to work in the field of social services.

What are your current career goals?
My current career goals are to help others.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 CPS Investigator 1 year 36000 I investigated child abuse and neglect cases.
Prior Job 2 Math Teacher 1 year 40000 I taught 7th and 8th grade math.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.4 Baylor University Psychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
4 Prairie View A & M University Counseling

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.