Corporate Bookkeeper (Female, Age 38) in Mukilteo, WA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 38 who works as a Corporate Bookkeeper in Mukilteo, WA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCorporate Bookkeeper
Salary$45,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMukilteo, WA
Years Experience6.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
It is a very large membership warehouse shopping company

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Reconcile sales, prepare weekly sales reports, record all accounts payable and receivables.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical, dental, paid sick and vacation, floating holidays, long and short term disability

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I reconcile sales for 6 people and audit their work daily. I provide them with a list of their errors for the previous day and help them on the transactions that they are having a hard time getting to work properly.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a large call center environment. My cubicle is in a separate room along with the accounting department which provides us with the much needed quiet and with very few interuptions. I do like that they provide us with a quieter environment. I don’t like that we have absolutely no privacy in the room if we need to make a personal phone call or make a doctor appointment, etc.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
submitted resume, initial interview, filled out application, 2nd interview, job offer

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
my first interview was with the president CEO because the VP was out of town. I was called back for a group interview and asked to fill out the application, a drug test was taken and then I went back in and was presented with a job offer.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
where do i see myself in 5 years, 10 years. What is my background experience (what other companies have I worked for and what were my responsibilites)

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
This branch of the company was fairly new so I was able to participate in creating and implementing procedures and software that was needed.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
The only training was for another person in the office to explain the daily activities that I would be doing and then she showed me by doing them.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
absolutely. I have always worked in accounting in all aspects so I have an extensive background in each accounting function. I was able to contribute a lot in finding the software packages that we needed and the procedures that we needed to implement for the rest of the accounting department.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Take the required classes and studying required to become certified. They should have a full knowledge of all aspects of accounting – payables, receivables, journal entries. They should have big picture knowledge of accounting necessities for a large organization.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They should be very organized and able to prioritize appropriately. They should have excellent math skills and attention to detail in order to find errors and to correct work to reconcile properly.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
On the job experience is probably more beneficial and a complete understanding of accounting functions.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Begin by taking some accounting classes and try to find a job that focuses on one or two accounting functions. As you learn and become comfortable with those aspects, continue to add more responsibilities and learning opportunities to your workload.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
This is part of my career plan because it is exposing me to other aspects of the large company where I could find another position that is more rewarding.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to find a position where I can utilize the skills that I have aquired but also incorporate new experiences.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I am thankful for my current position because I really do have great job security.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Accounts Receivable Coordinator5 years35000Sending out invoices for suite rentals, reconciling ticket sales daily, providing cash boxes for game nights.
Prior Job 2Accounts Payable Coordinator5 years30000match up vendor invoices with our computer system in preparation for payment. Generating vendor payments, investigating all discrepancies from what we show we should have.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
n/a
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.