Program Manager (Female, Age 42) in Des Moines, IA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 42 who works as a Program Manager in Des Moines, IA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Program Manager
Salary $32,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 50
Company Size (not answered)
Location Des Moines, IA
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the Girl Scouts of Greater Iowa. We serve 14000 girls and over 3000 adults in the 66 Iowa counties, one county in Nebraska, and 1.5 counties in South Dakota.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I plan and provide programming based on GS standards for girls in Kindergarten-12th grade. I secure locations and progam experts as well as design original programming.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
20 days vacation, 10 sick days, no insurance, 401k, very little retirement

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with about 25 staff daily and volunteers and girls as well. THis is my favorite part of my job.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I am in an office in a cubicle. I do not like the cube, would prefer an office with a door. i do like that there is wildlife around our office.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 8
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am wake up, get ready for work
8am to 9am drive to work
9am to 10am answer phone messages

return email messages

plan for event for this week

10am to 11am Deliver flyers to schools, day care, and other places where girls gather. (library, pool, ymca)
11am to 12pm help co worker with mailings,

take many phone call about upcoming event

12pm to 1pm lunch
1pm to 2pm shop for upcoming event.
2pm to 3pm organize materials purchased. assemble “goody bags” for event.

pack boxes and cars for event tomorrow.

3pm to 4pm Doctor appointment
4pm to 5pm return final email and phone messages for the day.
5pm to 6pm drive home
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I came into the office to complain about my daughter’s leader, volunteered to become a leader, and filled out a job application.

What was the application process?
submitted resume, paper application, and background check.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had my first interview with who would be my direct supervisor and my second interview with all of the directors in the office. The ceo was supposed to be there but she forgot.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
who is your female role modle, why?

what are your strengths, weaknesses?

tell me 3 things about yourself.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no. i was not trained at all and had to learn everything on my own.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. I work very well with children and adults.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend that they first look into the history of the organization and find out if this is what they want to represent. Then they should talk to current employees to find out about the work culture. Finally, they should find out if the salary is adaquate for their lifestyle.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
A person should have common sense, excellent communication skills, and great customer service. Our members need training and that needs communication. They also need to be taken care of in a timely manner.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
a college education is good, but I don’t think absoulutely necessary.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be patient, learn everything you can, ask questions from those who have worked there a while, and don’t be afraid to fail.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is now. I do plan on advancing in the organization.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to advance to a director or vp position.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
More people should look into the world of non profit. It can be very rewarding.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Sales 1.5ys 1000/month plus commission I sold illuminated and non illuminated signs to companies of all types.
Prior Job 2 Realtor 2ys commission I helped people buy and sell houses.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.5 Norhtwest Missouri State University Elementary Education
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.