Publisher/Writer (Female, Age 34) in Houston, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 34 who works as a Publisher/Writer in Houston, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Publisher/Writer
Salary $75,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 80
Company Size (not answered)
Location Houston, TX
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I own a multimedia publishing company. We consult and contract out with clients to build websites, teach writing workshops, educational tutoring/workshops, and editing services.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Publishing,Writing, Web-Design, Profile Reporting, Documenting, Marketing, Attending Events

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Health Insurance, Dental Insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I love what I do as an entrepreneur. I think that I have a long way to go, but thus far I have been happy with my clients and the money earned.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with clients in person, by phone, and virtually. It depends on the client when it comes to my personal outlook on their demeanor. The relationships that are developed sometimes are good and bad. It is a balance, you have to have a strong work ethic and nonsense attitude to make it in this business.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I have a home office and work out of my clients offices (if they request me to be near for a specific reason). Typically, I meet clients for an initial meeting then design their site in my home office. Meetings are held by email and phone. That can also be tricky sometimes.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Workout
8am to 9am Read all newspapers (15 to be exact) online
9am to 10am Write for blog: soflynmythirties

Upload freebies

Send email to Max in NYC about novella

Call Jackie at The Dallas Weekly to get new issue for this week in the mail

10am to 11am Work on new office organizing documents and rearranging furniture
11am to 12pm Spoke to Tracey about her resume and cover letter

I had to text her three times to make sure we were on the same point

Applied for a new fax number for litARTMedia

Got Tracey’s documents by email

Can’t read her documents because she faxed them backwards

Save on desktop

12pm to 1pm Eat lunch

Run to the bank

1pm to 2pm Spoke with Dr. McClaurin by text. She needs me to upload more stuff to her website. I told her my fee for uploading everything. She agreed and texted me three times about a new photo that she wants up.
2pm to 3pm Had to leave my office to pick up file cabinet and new desk.
3pm to 4pm Back at the office and the furniture was put in by my neighbor.
4pm to 5pm Checking my emails for the work that I have to have completed by 5pm tomorrow.
5pm to 6pm Day ends early getting ready for b-day celebration.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Raw Talent

What was the application process?
Marketing myself to clients

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I interview with clients as a potential designer for their project. All of my initial meetings with my clients are good. I have interviewed with three clients in the past two weeks. Which is really good in this economy. I landed two deals.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What is my turn-around with websites and editing services.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
The books that I have read and advice given from others in the business has helped.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No, I just started messing with websites about ten years ago and liked the idea and the things that I created. I just kept at it.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, when it comes to communicating with clients and writing.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to college and get a degree in what you love then flip it. Writing is needed in every craft. So as a web-designer you have an additive that most designers do not have in the industry. In addition, learning html,coding, and creating demo websites are a good start.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Determination, patience, strong work ethic, personality, organization, good health, and a savings!

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be persistent in what you do and make sure you have a business plan.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes

What are your current career goals?
Open the first African-American Literary Gallery in Houston, Texas

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Publisher/CEO 5yrs 50000 Publish/design websites
Prior Job 2 Arts Intergrationist Summer Position 5,000 (contract job) Made sure that the arts and academia were being merged in a test pilot program for the Dallas Independent School District

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.9 The University of Houston B.A. English Creative Writing with a minor in African-American Studies
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3 The University of Houston Graduate Certificate in African-American Studies

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.