Sr. Consultant (Male, Age 30) in Maryland Heights, MO

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 30 who works as a Sr. Consultant in Maryland Heights, MO. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSr. Consultant
Salary$52,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMaryland Heights, MO
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
My company is one of the leading IT companies and has a huge manpower both in and outside US. The organization provide different services, namely from developing softwares, providing infrastructure, giving support and offering their own products.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
My duties and responsibilities include:

– Doing analyses

– Gathering requirements

– Getting confirmation on what needs to be done

– Doing Implementation

– Testing the product

– Delivering the Product

– Providing production support

– Supporting Release of new packages

– Co-ordination with the team

– Getting inputs for team

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
around 1 day of vacation for 1 month of work, 401 (K) benefits with a contribution of 3% upto a limit, health insurance plan that is rated good and some sick leaves that I never cared for (as I never required to take till now)

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I like working with different people as this helps in learning something new.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
We have cubes in our office to work at and the office contains a big building with all necessary facilites (like cafetaria, meeting rooms, conference rooms, etc)

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 8
Benefits: 8
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amInitial going through the emails and responding to queries that has been recieved.
9am to 10am2 Standup meetings for 2 different projects at which I’m working. In these meetings, the daily progress is evaluated and it is discussed what all needs to be done today.

also, in case there are any dependencies or issues which needs to escalated, those all are raised at that moment.

10am to 11amStarting the day with the regular development task.

Going through the last worked changes and again starting coding ahead of it.

11am to 12pmStarting with testing of developed code.

The Unit testing is carried out and all the missing scenarios are tried to identified and fixed.

Attending tele-conference of other team members and checking for their work progress and to resolve their pending issues.

12pm to 1pmBack to work after lunch and proceeding ahead with development and testing assignment.

Helping other team members with their issues they are facing so that their development work carries on.

1pm to 2pmCompiling all the details discussed in the tele-conference and writing down all inputs required by other team members.

Sending emails on the basis of information required and clarifying any doubts if anyone has any.

2pm to 3pmMeeting with all the other team members to plan for next months work schedule.

It consist of specific information like what one individual will be working on for next 1 month.

Further if any team member believes there is some other task that might be pending, it is raised at this time so that it can be considered and time is allocated for that task in next Project Planning.

3pm to 4pmWorking on One problem with 4 different groups.

This is regarding 1 new component that is suppose to get live within 1 month. The live environment doesn’t support some features so that desired data can be transmitted to destination end.

Worked with the person at destination level to identify all the requirements, so that we can ensure all those scnearios are taken care of.

Also, the complete process on how we are implementing this task is alos explained, so that a person can raise a concern if we are doing something in a wrong way.

4pm to 5pmTrying to work with other team members to know their progress. Working one Project status report that needs to be circulated to all concerned people on Wednesday.

Getting back with the testing work and continuing it further.

5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper

What was the application process?
submit resume, sortlisted candidate called for written test, then personal interview and final HR and Management interview.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
For my current task, I was further interviewed by a group of 2 persons to see whether I have enough communication and technical skills to complete the needful.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
These were technical questions like:

– what’s the difference between chomp and chop

– what all steps do you follow to deliver a code

– how will you work on to deliver a product from the requirements, etc.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
In our area, since I joined with some basic knowledge, I learned my way while working on new things. It didn’t require my employer to train me much.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, the training contains differnt steps that needs to followed to deliver a product.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, since I have my college degree (Bachelor’s degree), it provided me all necessary information to jump in area of my choice.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes, that is what tells you how to handle practical scenarios.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
You need to have some knowledge on how to write softwares and you should have worked on some softwares (maybe some home projects) to explain someone that you know how to implement it in a big way.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good communication skills is a must.

He definitely need a college education to have the basics right.

For Technical skills:

Since the software field is very vast, it depends on what technology you want to work on. For my position, you need to have a good knoweldge on C/C++, UNIX, Perl, Pro*C, Oracle.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
College education is required.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Never hesitate to ask how this is done and if you know how to do hard work, rest all come to you itself.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Doesn’t seems like as I am not learning anything new.

I’m kind of stuck for some time with the same knowledge level and it is not helping my professional growth in any way.

What are your current career goals?
I need to learn some new technologies and to be specific, those technologies through which I can earn better.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Its fun if you like this area…. It can be really hard at the time of deadlines, as you might be spending quiet a no. of hours in office (including weeknights and weekends).

Prior work history

#NAME?

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
72.4PCCSComputer Science & Engg
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
60.8GMSSSMed. + Maths

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.