Court Clerk (Female, Age 29) in Inman, SC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 29 who works as a Court Clerk in Inman, SC. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCourt Clerk
Salary$22,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationInman, SC
Years Experience5.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Local city goverment–about 500 employees

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Handle all traffic tickets that are issued in the city. Perform customer service job.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, dislike. I like the people that I work with but not the “customers” that I interact with.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office–poor temp. control–always either too hot or too cold.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amEnter and file traffic tickets
9am to 10amGo to court
10am to 11amGo to court
11am to 12pmBreak down court paperwork
12pm to 1pmLunch
1pm to 2pmFile tickets from court
2pm to 3pmCourt
3pm to 4pmCourt
4pm to 5pmBreak down court paperwork
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper

What was the application process?
resume, interview, 2nd interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, 2 interviews with both supervisors

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
can’t remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes–doesn’t really take a rocket scientist to know how to enter stuff into a computer

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
none

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no–I am much more qualified than this job allows

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes–let me deal with some of the same people that I am dealing with now

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Know how to type really fast.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good customer service skills. Good computer skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Find a new line of work to go into.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I don’t have a career plan

What are your current career goals?
don’t have any

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8USCSCriminal Justice
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.