Corporate Travel Agent (Female, Age 37) in chelsea, MA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 37 who works as a Corporate Travel Agent in chelsea, MA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCorporate Travel Agent
Salary$34,240
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
Locationchelsea, MA
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a travel company based in the Boston area with an office in London as well as in CHicago and the DC area. Most of the business is Business travel.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I answer the phone as the calls come in and identify which company the traveler is from and help with either new reservations or existing reservations.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, 401k with company match of 25cents up to 4 %, hmo blue, FSA, Delta Dental, STD, life insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
yes I do

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work from home but communicate regurlarly with those that share my shift Its a great support system

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 1
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 4

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
something ive always wanted to do

What was the application process?
for current position, submitted resume, interview, had experience

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes i did. 1 interview, tested reservation system knowledge.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
past experience, flexibility on schedule, hours looking for,

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No but there is where experience comes in and willing to take initiative and not afraid to ask for help

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, Learning a new reservation system, basicly had to learn on he job and ask lots of questions.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
training school, though lots it learned on the job, start off as receptinist, office help depends on the location

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
be very familiar with a computer though you will be taught a reservation system, phone skills, to your advantage if you have travelled and know your geography. Be able to think outside the box.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
the field is ever changing and there are more than one way to come to a solution. Be open and receptive to change. Keep on top of the changes.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes for now. Im able to work at home which allows me not to put my child in daycare

What are your current career goals?
right now have health insurance and a pay check

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Purser3 yearsn/aWork on board ship, keeping up the crew files, filling out the paperwork for immigration and customs for each port. Onboard gift shop.
Prior Job 2Corporate Agent1 year27000Sent all over the country to fill in as a corporate Agent whereever I was needed. Housing supplied. Got to live in different states and work in different companies. Learned a lot.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.5Thomas CollegeBusiness
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.