Journeyman Plumber (Male, Age 28) in Round Rock, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 28 who works as a Journeyman Plumber in Round Rock, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleJourneyman Plumber
Salary$40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationRound Rock, TX
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for Christianson AC & Plumbing They specialize in new construction Plumbing and AC repair work. It is a medium sized Company with about 150 to 250 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am a Journeyman Plumber I work on new construction plumbing installing water heaters, toilets,sinks, showers, gas pipes, washers and dryers and any other plumbing on new houses that needs to be installed.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
1 Week of vacation, employer paid health insurance and 401k plan.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, It is something I like because I have a helper to help me with all the work I have to do which makes getting my job completed each day easier and it gives me someone to talk to to make the day go by faster.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My work location is mainly new construction houses and I like it when I get to the house I am needing to install new toilets and shower faucets and sinks are ready for me I dislike when there is no tile on the floors or no cabinets because when these items aren’t installed in the house I can’t do my job.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 2
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amAt this time I arrive at work and go to the office and check my box for my paperwork which tells me what work I am assigned to do sometimes I have new construction houses that need water heaters, toilets, sinks, gas pipes and showers, other days I have no houses and I have Punch ( finish up a house that I previously worked on that either wasn;t ready,didn’t have the parts I needed or something broke.
8am to 9amAt this time my helper and I go to the wharehouse and get the boxes that are ready for us if we have houses and load them on our work truck. If we have punch then we get the supplies we need ourself and load it on the truck then drive to our destination to start work. Usually stopping at the convenience store on the way.
9am to 10amAt this time we arrive at wherever our location is and make sure the house is ready sometimes we receive paperwork to do a house but if it has no countertops or tiles in the bathroom we are unable to start our job therefor my helper and I check out the house first and if everything is ready we unload the truck and put all the parts we are going to install where they go for example we put the water heater in the garage or the basement depending or where it is to be installed and toilets in the bathrooms this way it makes our job easier and faster.
10am to 11amAbout this time after everything is unloaded we take a quick break.After That I start working on installing the water heater and and the kitchen sink and shower faucet while my helper works on installing the bathroom toilets and the batroom sinnks this takes a couple of hours depending on how many bathrooms there is.
11am to 12pmAround this time I am still installing the new water heater and sinks and shower faucet as I said previously this can take a few hours to do. When I am done with this I take another break.
12pm to 1pmAfter my break I water test and dap( I turn the water on from the outside water source and I turn on the fauces and showers and make sure there is no leaks where the pipes are under the cabinets then I secure the sinks and faucets with dap/caulk) If there are any leaks I fix them if not them we clean up all the trash and put all our tools back in the truck.
1pm to 2pmAt this time if I have another house I will repeat the above process over again but lately I haven;t had much work so That is basically all the work I do. When we have finished loading the tools in the truck I do a final walkthrough to make sure everything that needed to be done on the house is completed and that we are not leaving anything behind.
2pm to 3pmAt this time we drive back to the shop (Christanson Ac & Plumbing) and turn in our paperwork stating that we have completed our work that was assigned to us and we clock out.
3pm to 4pmAt this time I leave work and drive home I am done for the day.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I walked into the company and applieed.

What was the application process?
I just filled out a paper application and was hired on the spot.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had a short interview when I turned in my application, just to fill out all the start up paperwork and let the company make a copy of my drivers license.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
It has been almost 5 years since I got my job I do not remember that far back on what questions were asked.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes they gave me great mentors who knew what they were doing and taught me how to do what I know now.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I got on the job training I had no experience when I first started I just moved to different areas of the company and learned what to do as I went.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No I only had my GED. I had no educational experience in this field but I learned by working there.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend that they go to a Plumbing school first and get some experience and trainging then find a plumbing company to work for on the side to get some on the job training experience but also have the schooling to get them on their way to a great career oppurtunity.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
I think people need leadership skills and problem solving skills and motivation and the abilty to work long hours and in the heat.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
It won’t be easy when you first start but with practice and hands on experience it is something you can learn and be good at.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is now because I plan on getting my Master’s Plumbing License and Own my own business.

What are your current career goals?
To get my Master’s Plumbing License and Own my Own Plumbing License

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
NO

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Delievery Driver35.15 hrI delieverd and prepared pizza’s at Papa Johns.
Prior Job 2Manager410.00 hrI over saw employees, made pizza’s, inventory, ordering ingredients, paperwork and cleaning.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:?

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
NANANA
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
NANANA

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.