Mediator/Negotiator... And Publisher/Editor (Male, Age 58) in Worcester, MA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 58 who works as a Mediator/Negotiator... And Publisher/Editor in Worcester, MA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMediator/Negotiator... And Publisher/Editor
Salary$100,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationWorcester, MA
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I am a Principle Partner of a professional firm providing alternative conflict resolution (“ADR”) services to the general public and corporate World through mediation and negotiation. We handle every form of conflict where the parties involved are willing to try to work their differences out wihtout reverting to costly, time-consuming, and many times disasterous legal action through the Courts – from helping people to resolve family issues (especialy divorce), to all forms of business conflict, including internally between management and labor, or between business partners, etc) and externally between businesses and vendors or customers – but that is a terribly short list of all the types of conflicts we help people resolve. In my publishing business, we serve both as a “vanity house” for private work, and solicit manuscripts from “others” to publish in various ways – in book form, on CD’s, and soon on DVD’s.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I do it ALL, with some secretarial help as needed, and help from partners as available or needed (or I help them, as needed).

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
None.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Vasly under-compensated… so far!

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
No

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income:
Benefits:
Hours:
Co-Workers:
Supervisors:
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI begin my days well before 7AM by thoroughly reading our local newspaper, spending anywhere from half and hour to an hour reading the Internet news sources (my primary source of news, increasingly), and going through e-mail for several addresses. I did all of this, this morning as usual.
8am to 9amOn the phone shortly after 8AM with Partner “T” in regard to a new daily/weekly web column we’ve been hired to write for the general public on the legal issues of “False, deceptive, and misleading advertising”, and what to do if they find themselves caught up in a scam. Next phone call shortly afterward was to discuss with an outside consultant preparation needs for a meeting next week with a local Town official in regard to the Town’s desire to set up a test project wind turbine to augment the Town’s municipal electricty generation facility (this is an aspect of a NEW job I’m doing… consulting on “green” (alternative energy generating) projects. Spent the balance of the hour and into the next doing some personal correspondence on the ‘net via IM with two friends.
9am to 10amWent out for breakfast and coffee, and to meet with a local business owner to try to take care of a bill that was inaccurately rendered. Partially resolved the billing error – the balance of the discussion left to our further meeting/discussion this afternoon. On returning, I made and had more coffee, read more incoming e-mail, and began composing (in my head) a number of business-related reply e-mails on various topics. Began scanning Craig’s List (“CL”) for possible clients who might seek publishing/editing assistance (a daily activity). Found the CL listing for THIS survey, and began to investigate your web site.
10am to 11amCOntinued to read about your organization on the ‘net… and decided to join your survey out of curiosity (and I drinka lot of coffee! lol!). Now I’m writing this log… which brings us up to date at this point… and am now going back to work.
11am to 12pm
12pm to 1pm
1pm to 2pm
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.