Preschool Teacher (Female, Age 24) in Mooresville, NC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Preschool Teacher in Mooresville, NC. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitlePreschool Teacher
Salary
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMooresville, NC
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a Preschool and the school takes in 100 students total. The students are split into 3 different classes.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I have to do a lesson plan. I also have to pass out flash cards, teach ABCs, 123s, letter recognization, and help with arts/crafts. I also take the students to different learning stations such as the water/sand table, clay table, and reading area. I envolve them with lots of hands on activity as well as imagination.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I have 2 weeks vacation, 10 sick days, health insurnace, 401K

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel that I am paid fairly for my position.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
No

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income:
Benefits:
Hours:
Co-Workers:
Supervisors:
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI get the materials around for the classes such as copying papers such as coloring papers, flash cards, and letters. I also put on the color of crayon we will be using that day to go with the theme for the day. I also get the clay out, the water/sand table, get the toys out for free time, and get the fishing game out to go fishing for letters. The kids use two fishing pools and try to get the letters. Then they think of a animal that goes with the letter.
8am to 9amI start my class at 8am and this is my first class. I get the kids in their seats and get their attention. I bring out the letter of the day and today it was B. The kids all got a Brown Crayon. The kids colored their first picture was bats and colored them brown. We read a book that started with a B.
9am to 10amI got the kids ready for the water/sand table as this is a reward for doing so well during the fist hour of the class. Each kid gets 5 minutes to play in the water. This usually takes up a good chunk of the time. The rest of the kids are busy coloring their second paper which they colored cows with the Brown crayon.
10am to 11amAfter that we take a break and have some free time. The kids can play with the educational toys. At 11am the kids leave and go home. I then set up for the next class.
11am to 12pmAt 11:30 am I get the kids in their seats. We do the same thing that we did in the 8am hour. We learn about the letter B and colored some pictures. Reference above for what we did.
12pm to 1pmAt 12pm to 12:30pm we have a snack. It is goldfish and a juice.

At 12:30pm we had some free time where the kids go play at each different station and we did that to 1pm. The kids can play with clay, make pictures, and paint.

1pm to 2pmAt 1pm we start getting the children ready for the water/sand table. The other kids color pictures with cows and color another picture with bunnies. Then we sing the ABC song and get the kids ready to go home.
2pm to 3pmAt 2:15pm the second class goes home. I only have two classes unlike some teachers who have three. This is the reason my classes are longer then normal. I cleaned up the class, set the chairs on the desk, and prepared the lesson for the next day. At 3pm I was free to go home.
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.