Accounts Receiveable Specialist 

(Female, Age 43) from Los Angeles, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 43 who works as a Accounts Receiveable Specialist in Los Angeles, CA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Accounts Receiveable Specialist
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Los Angeles, CA
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Watts Labor Community Action Committe is a social service organization that services the community anyone from infants to seniors. We have over 52 programs that we manage cash for. Accounts Receivables process over 1.5 million dollars per month.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Process all cash received into the organization via 52 social service programs.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks of paid vacation / 1 week of paid sick leave / HMO Health Plan / Retirement Investment Portfolio

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with and interact with an entire Accounting Department. No dislikes

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Private office, I love the privacy of my office.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 8
Benefits: 6
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Travel to work via pov
8am to 9am Clock in at 9:00 A.M.
9am to 10am Boot computer, check voicemail, email and mailbox. I return any phone calls that I need to and respond to any emails that I need to. Then I prioritize my mail.
10am to 11am I download a confirmation report from Bank of America of all the previous day deposits to validate and verify. I take a 15 minute break at 10:15 A.M.
11am to 12pm I process all cash received by various departments by counting and recording all cash received for the current day. I prepare them to be deposited to the bank.
12pm to 1pm Lunch Time
1pm to 2pm I process all of the drafts that have been received for the day and prepare them for deposit to the bank.
2pm to 3pm I take all of the cash and checks to the bank to make a deposit.
3pm to 4pm I batch all of the deposits for the day, balance and prepare them to be filed away in the daily receivables file.
4pm to 5pm I reconcile all of our accounts to the bank statements received via mail.
5pm to 6pm Clock out at 5:30 P.M.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
Submitted resume online, paper application, testing, interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I interviewed with two persons.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked a lot of question in regards to Accounting

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I was trained by the previous A/R Manager

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, software training

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, My educational background is in the Accounting field

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to school and learn the fundamentals of Accounting.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Very detailed and organized.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, atlease Accounting 1

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Slow and detailed is the key.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I plan to advance within the company.

What are your current career goals?
To continue to advance as far as my education and experience will take me.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Clerical/Claims 5 years 35000 Process insurance claims
Prior Job 2 Office Manager 10 years 30000 Managed the office in all aspects.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5 El Camino Community College Business Accounting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.