Sales Manager (Female, Age 25) in Oak Grove, MO

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 25 who works as a Sales Manager in Oak Grove, MO. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Sales Manager
Salary $105,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 50
Company Size (not answered)
Location Oak Grove, MO
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Large Marketing company

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Sales and marketing – I find clients as well as help them with their marketing needs

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Health, 401K, retirement plan, 4 weeks paid vacation time

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I absolutely work with others as a daily part of my job and I love it. I thrive on working with people and finding new clients

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 5
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am At this time I get up and get ready for work. I leave home about 8 am
8am to 9am From 8-9 am I drive to work. My commute is about 1 hour with traffic
9am to 10am From 9-10 I get my coffee and Go over my messages and daily tasks. I review our daily reports and submit them to my boss
10am to 11am From 10 – 11 am, we have our daily office meeting. This is where we go over the current campaigns and brainstorm ideas for new campaigns as well as ways to get more customers. This is the best part of my day
11am to 12pm From 11-12 I return phone calls from my messages and make calls that need to be made. I then try to clear my desk of all the stuff that accumulates
12pm to 1pm From 12 – 1 I take my lunch break
1pm to 2pm From 1 – 2 pm This is the time that I sit down and work with graphics software and create new ad campaigns to show to my clients. I also check my e-mail and return e-mails that need to be responded to
2pm to 3pm From 2-3 pm I prepare our daily sales figures and compare them to see what needs improving
3pm to 4pm From 3 – 4 I brief my coworkers on our sales reports
4pm to 5pm From 4-5 pm I drive home
5pm to 6pm N/A
6pm to 7pm N/A
7pm to 8pm N/A
8pm to 9pm N/A
9pm to 10pm N/A
10pm to 11pm N/A
11pm to 12am N/A

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
Submitted resume online, follow up interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
One interview with the VP of operations.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Questions asked were basically what was my educational and experience level, how were my people skills, what kinds of projects I had worked on and what kind of results, and the basic job interview questions

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not really, but I am a fast learner

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No training

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
For sure…A bachelors degree is a must for this kind of position

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I had no internship

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Do your homework and get familiarize yourself with the business and I must say that word of mouth is the best way to network

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Definately organizational skills are a must, also you must be outgoing, hard working, and creative

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes – A bachelors degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Work hard because there is so much competition out there and be creative

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
This was absolutely my career plan

What are your current career goals?
To excel in what I do

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Administrative Assistant 5 years 50000 I handled all of the A/R, A/P, payroll, as well as clerical work. I prepared the daily reports.
Prior Job 2 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
4 UMKC Bachelor
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/A N/A N/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.