Financial Consultant (Male, Age 51) in new york, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 51 who works as a Financial Consultant in new york, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleFinancial Consultant
Salary$87,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
Locationnew york, NY
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a for profit insurance company that has been around for over 100 years. Its main branch is located in New York with many locations around the U.S. and Europe.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I handle insurance claims, sell them, and deal with investment and pension retirement accounts.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health medical dental 401 k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
so so

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I sell insurance policies daily and in doing so meet a variety of people which I enjoy very much.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office on company floor. It ok although I am out a lot.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amcommute to work
8am to 9ammeet with clients to sell policiies discuss pros and cons about what will fit their needs. Check voice messages and return calls.
9am to 10amFill out the necessary paperwork to get policies in. Set up appointments for the coming week.
10am to 11ammeet a client and finalize policy. Check tests for qualifications. Complete more paperwork to speed up the process.
11am to 12pmMore phone calls to clients and lab techs. Maybe fit in a client. Yet more paperwork
12pm to 1pmout for lunch
1pm to 2pmset up appointments
2pm to 3pmrepetative
3pm to 4pmrepetative
4pm to 5pmrepetative
5pm to 6pmrepetative
6pm to 7pmgo home
7pm to 8pmphone appointments
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
In line with another job I had before and wanted to work for myseld so…

What was the application process?
pHONE interview and than meeting.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
1 interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Prior experience in the field.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Didnt need much aid, if any.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Taking a set of insurance exam.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I was an actuary before and I was able to utilize my skills from that job and crossover into insurance.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Didnt intern.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Work your way up through experience.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good everything skills basically my job is all encompassing.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
YES.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be personable.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I plan to find an upper tier job within the next year or so.

What are your current career goals?
Leadership

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1actuary15 yrs90000Worked on pension plans.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8ccnyMathematics
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.