Transportation Coordinator (Female, Age 35) in Rainsville, AL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 35 who works as a Transportation Coordinator in Rainsville, AL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleTransportation Coordinator
Salary$86,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationRainsville, AL
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Largest commercial playground equipment manufacturere in the U.S. We are owned by a large investment group based in NY city.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Schedule the most cost affective way to move product from point a to point b. Direct, LTL, container, LCL, air freight etc. 3-5 million a week. This has to be done with the least amount of misdirection and damages.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Vacation, sick and personal leave. Great medical, dental and vision insurance. Good 401k company match. Company paid health club membership. Employee Assisitance Program (free counseling services.)

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with other employees, sales reps, customers, drivers, transportation companies and freight brokers every day. I enjoy meeting people and finding solutions to problems.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 5
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrive @ 8:00.
8am to 9amBegin work on weight report due by 9:00. This is a spreadsheet tha tracks the weekly shipments by weight and transportation company.Spoke with inventory obout backorders(things that were to ship but were’nt in stock.
9am to 10amemailed weight report to corporate and began work on contract payroll.This is the invoices that are turned in to accounting for payment to the different direct trucking companies. Due by 10:00.
10am to 11amGave copies of payroll to my boss and to accounting. Answered any question about rates and deliveries that accounting may have. Took phone call and several emails from reps asking for freight quotes for different weights shipping to different parts of the country.
11am to 12pmLunch meeting with consultant on ways we can improve our packaging system so we can cut down on damages. Big problem for us. Mainly I was there just to listen and answer any questions about day to day stuff my boss doesn’t handle. Several corporate people in attendance as well as my boss and his boss.
12pm to 1pmLUNCH MEETING
1pm to 2pmBegan work on orders for the following ship date. We work two weeks out. This is the most time consuming and critical part of the job. Takes all afternoon I have to look over each individule order as it comes down from order entry, log it into the computer and sched ule it by date and shipping method. Deciding factors include, weight, freight charges, and where it’s shipping. I then have to request shipping paperwork for all of these orders to be printed. This includes a load check sheet that the driver and custome go over when freight is being unloaded to make sure they receive everything, a bill of lading and labels.
2pm to 3pmContinue…..also answer calls about general questions, emails concerning orders.
3pm to 4pmSame.
4pm to 5pmBegin matching paperwork that I requested earlier. Each order is matched with load check, Bill of ladin and labels then sent to the docks to be pulled and loaded on the appropriate carrier and shipped at the right time.
5pm to 6pmContinue….sometimes until 8:00.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
job service

What was the application process?
resume, interview, follow up emails.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. one interview with my direct supervisor and one with the department head.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I remember listening to my boss more than answering questions. He told me a lot about hte job and the company.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, The reason for that is because the girl that was training me quit unexpectedly and I was thrust into this position before I was ready. Sink or swim.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Lots of one on one training from my boss. He would let me get comfortable with one task before he gave me another. Deciding the most cost affective way to ship something was the most difficult.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. No specialty in the transportation field.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
AN education first. Marketing or perhaps business. The transportation industry doesn’t have a lot of specialty degrees. Lots of on the job learning.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
A must is to be direct and out spoken. I work with mostly men who like to get what they want and not have to pay for it. Also this industry is notorious for not meeting deadlines and they always have an excuse. You have to be able to stand up for yourself and provide for your customers, even if it means being bully.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
It helps but I work with lots of others who learned along the way.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Listen and learn. Develop an attitude.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. It is the first step to what I would like to do, which is eventually take over the transportation division in a major company.

What are your current career goals?
More experiance. Expand my responsibilty. Create more contact within the industry and learn, learn, learn.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I love it! My boss is great and I truly enjoy the company I work for.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Court referral officer3- years40000Drug testing, find rehab services for clients of the court system who have addiction problems.
Prior Job 2Community Education coordinator2 years26000Inform the community on the many services offered by the company.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.6

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2N.E. Al community collegeBusiness
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.