(Male, Age 42) from Hollywood, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 42 who works as a Controller in Hollywood, CA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Controller
Salary $85,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 45
Company Size (not answered)
Location Hollywood, CA
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
The comapny is a manufacturer of steel and alloy casings

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
All accounting functions, AR, AP, reconciliations, planning and budgeting.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical, dental and 401K

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Content but would like more as business grows.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Checking emails and internet sites the we view on a daily basis
8am to 9am Morning meeting – where we are going and what we need to accomplish
9am to 10am reviewing reports from departments
10am to 11am reviewing reports from departments
11am to 12pm updating department budgets and analyzing
12pm to 1pm Lunch
1pm to 2pm reviewing bank reports
2pm to 3pm calls and emails to clients regarding billing and payments
3pm to 4pm meet with CEO discussing financial status and what to expect for future orders
4pm to 5pm reviewing and speaking with my department
5pm to 6pm Verifying bank reconciliations
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.