Teacher (Female, Age 33) in hartsdale, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 33 who works as a Teacher in hartsdale, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleTeacher
Salary$84,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationhartsdale, NY
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Ardsley school districts in westchester county, ny

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I teach English and reading skills to all 102 8th grade students in the middle school.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
sick, personal time, dental and health insurance.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
i am pleased with my compensation.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I stand in front of teenagers for most of the day, and i also have several strategy meetings a week with colleagues. I do like the interaction.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 5
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amPrepping for the day. First class of students
8am to 9amSecond class of students.
9am to 10amYes, another class of students.
10am to 11amLunch break and grading papers.
11am to 12pmClass after lunch.
12pm to 1pmAnother class of students.
1pm to 2pmFinishing up last class. Meeting with some students about their work/grades.
2pm to 3pmStaff meeting to discuss some challenging students.
3pm to 4pmGrading of papers, planning for tomorrow’s lessons.
4pm to 5pmGo to the gym.
5pm to 6pmArrive home before 6pm. Start making dinner.
6pm to 7pmEat dinner, watch tv with wife and dog.
7pm to 8pmMake some calls, read email.
8pm to 9pmWatch television.
9pm to 10pmGet ready for work tomorrow, get ready for bed. tired!
10pm to 11pmHopefully asleep.
11pm to 12amSnoring!

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet searches, word of mouth

What was the application process?
submit online application and then await a call.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. several rounds of interviews with various members of the school board, parents and students. lastly, a demonstration of teaching skills in front of a class.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
i honestly do not remember, as i was so nervous !

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, but giving me constant feedback from my evaluations.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I had hands on experience in a classroom as part of my education.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I recommend a bachelors degree in education and to continue on to receive a masters degree in education.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
good listening skills, team player, patience, desire to further education, and a love of children.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes!

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Try and be as open minded as possible to whatever the job brings you. Be patient and try to communicate well with parents and students.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. i plan on retiring from this district.

What are your current career goals?
Considering a second masters degree.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no thank you.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7SUNY at Oswegoeducation
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
4college of new rochellereading specialist

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.