Marketing Assistant (Female, Age 38) in los angeles, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 38 who works as a Marketing Assistant in los angeles, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMarketing Assistant
Salary$80,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationlos angeles, CA
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
High0end cosmetic company. 30 employees in the corporate office. 300 in the field.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
help to develop new products and develop advertising campaigns for all products.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
expense account, health and dental insurance, gym membership

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
i think well compensated. but we all would like to make more money

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes. i work with tthe marketing team, the sales team, the art department, the packaging department, research and development people, and major magazines.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office. i actually like it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 6
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amcheck email, make phone calls regarding photographers for product shoot.
9am to 10amgo to a status meeting. we discussed with all departments all the timelines of product completion. including advertsing, day it will drop at store. at this time the art department witll say where they are at with sketches, legal department will discuss what text they are waiting on to be approved, packaging people will discuss the time line of when samples will come and/or when the “real” packaging will be avaialble.
10am to 11ammeeting comtinues.
11am to 12pmmeet with marketing team to discuss new colours for fall.
12pm to 1pm
1pm to 2pmwork on my own on budgets and seeing how we are best allocating the money we are given and checking and updating out our roll out plans for fall.
2pm to 3pmabove continues
3pm to 4pmabove continues. plus meet with boss the go over this and out priorities for the week.
4pm to 5pmstop by a in office product photoshoot, this is just for our marketing press kits and for the sales teams. i pick out the best pictures
5pm to 6pmabove comtinues.
6pm to 7pmabove continues and i leave at 6:30
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper

What was the application process?
i started off as a receptionist and they liked me and offered me an interview for an open podition in mkting.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
i interviewed with the human resources person and the head of human resources. and the the vice president of marketing, who is my boss.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
dont remember a lot. but things like giving me examples of markieting situations and how would i handle that. weakness and strengths. those types of things.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. nice patient and clear. and i think the learn as you go is the best way.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes. watching listening and learning. i have a naturally nack for it. and siance i love cosmetics it was quite easy for me. there was basic trainging, like where thiings are and who to call for what, hpw file certain things. wetc. but most was done as you go.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. i majored in speech communication and it gave be a great ability to commnicate with people on all levels

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
no.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
major in marketing. be interested in the industry you are trying to be in. sned your resume to human resources or which ever companies you wish to work for. check in the newspaper or online for things in the marketing department.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
creative, intelligent, hard-worker, the ability to multitak, work well under pressure.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be professional, leave your ego out of the picture, learn and listen to those above you, they know more than you!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes. i like marketing and plan to stay with it.

What are your current career goals?
right now to stick with this. we’ll see what happens.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
not at the moment

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1bloomingdales750000assistant buyer
Prior Job 2event planner370000planned events

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3university of mdbachelor’s spch communications
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.