Cfo (Female, Age 48) in Southborough, MA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 48 who works as a Cfo in Southborough, MA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCfo
Salary$80,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSouthborough, MA
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A small software company that helps large companies develop their web sites to perform better

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I handle all the Accounting, Finance and HR functions

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Full medical, dental, vision

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I don’t have major interaction with others, which is fine

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 6
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amSleeping
8am to 9amGet ready for Work
9am to 10amCommute to work. Arrive. Go through the mail. Update accounting system for bills
10am to 11amPrepare daily management report for boss. Analyze cash flow and determine what bills can be paid when.
11am to 12pmTalk to payroll company about a problem employee and determine what options can be taken. Update boss on the options.
12pm to 1pmPay bills. Process monthly payroll. Read emails

Lunch at desk

1pm to 2pmPrepare invoices. Clean desk. Resolve open items.

2pm to 3pmDepart
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Refferal to a head hunter who knew the hiring manager

What was the application process?
Met with headhunter who presented me

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. Meeting with both owners.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I believe explained what the job entailed and asked me how comfortable I was with doing it. Mostly talked about my experience and how it related to what they were looking for.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Somewhat, but not completely.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
None at all.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. It looks toward much of the basic knowledge I was taught

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
A person should have an educational background that includes basic accounting and finance. They then need to start with an entry level accounting job. They should have enough changes in job responsibilities and types of companies worked for to get as broad a background as possible. To obtain this level takes time and experience.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Strong accounting and basic finance skiils. Be very organized and detail oriented. Good people skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes – at least a BA in business, with accounting classes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be patient as you get bored with parts of your job. Keep looking for speical projects to help you grow

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I work part time and have flexible hours

What are your current career goals?
To have a job where I am challenged mentally but can work independently.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Direcotr of Loan Origination3140000I led the group that did due diligence on potential loans
Prior Job 2Controller3 years100000Controller responsible for retailer with approx. 85 store locations.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7Boston UniversityBSBA
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.2U of VaMBA

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.