Project Engineer (Male, Age 36) in hauppauge, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 36 who works as a Project Engineer in hauppauge, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Project Engineer
Salary $80,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size (not answered)
Location hauppauge, NY
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
consumer electronics firm, making dvd electronics and various entertainment electronics for vehicle in the aftermarket and oem realms

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
product development, testing, submitting documents

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical, 401k, life insurance, dental, stock options

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
i love working with other people. team working is the best

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am I do not work at this time. I am still at home.
8am to 9am I do not work at this time. I usually leave home during this hour for my commute to work. My commute can be as short as 15 minutes, but as long as 30 minutes.
9am to 10am My day begins. I turn on my PC. I review all new e-mails that were received overnight, that I did not review before I went to sleep the previous evening. I reply to e-mails where required, I forward e-mails where required. I prepare my To Do items for the day based upon items not completed the previous day and new items for the current day.
10am to 11am I check product development schedules to verify that timing has not slipped for any impending programs. I touch base with our production and purchasing departments for any new problems. Test program data sheets are reviewed. Data sheets are commented on.
11am to 12pm Physically work on product development by reviewing owner’s manuals, install manuals, etc. Launch new test programs based upon schedule requirements. Order new products to continue testing requirements.
12pm to 1pm Submit my comments on publications reviewed in the previous hour. Review my comments with publications to make sure they are not confused. Publications creates the final documents that the end users wind up reviewing to operate electronics. If there are problems here, the consumer will not know how to operate the equipment.
1pm to 2pm Wait for publications re-work. Monitor e-mails. Respond to queries on product development. Review with team the meeting in the upcoming hour to make sure all outstanding issues are or will be addressed.
2pm to 3pm Weekly program meeting. Review open issue lists, open new issues, close outstanding issues. Program meeting invites all departments to address problems, product flow, test issues.
3pm to 4pm Weekly program meeting. Review open issue lists, open new issues, close outstanding issues. Review schedule with my team. Make sure that production orders have been placed so that product will be tested and shipped according to schedule.
4pm to 5pm Finalize e-mails for the evening with overseas suppliers. Arrange late night phone calls with Japan & China to keep programs running in accordance with the schedules.
5pm to 6pm Leave work for home.
6pm to 7pm Dinner at home.
7pm to 8pm Relax at home
8pm to 9pm Review e-mails on home PC.
9pm to 10pm Prepare for late night phone calls with overseas suppliers.
10pm to 11pm Go to bed.
11pm to 12am Asleep.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
freind of the vp

What was the application process?
submitted resume, mulitple interveiws

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes interviewed. three total interviews. 5 different people. over 5 months/

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
cant remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes… i was told up front of what was needed to be done

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, without it… no job

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
complete your education… find an entry level engineering job first

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
pc skills, project and team management

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
work hard.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes. the future is limitless/

What are your current career goals?
not sure

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 engineer 5 yrs 78000 project engineer
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 new paltz bsee
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.