Vice President (Male, Age 24) in Batavia, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 24 who works as a Vice President in Batavia, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleVice President
Salary$80,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBatavia, NY
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Midwest College Painters, a student internship program. I recruit and train college students for an internship program and for full-time positions. We teach managers how to run their own business and develop essential skills used later in their future career.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Responsible for day to day business processes, accounting, budgeting, planning, and basic financial modeling.

Seasonal responsibilities include:

Internship recruitment

business training

management

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Limited Benefits, Growing Business (Free Vacation, flexible schedule)

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Very well compensated for flexible working hours

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Generally yes, in limited amounts. I like the people I work with and the atmosphere is easy going.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I use the office often, I have private space and it’s a quiet place to work. I’d lose my mind if I was stuck in an office all day – I have the option to work from home and I travel often.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 8
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10amCoffee, head to the office
10am to 11amCheck email, watch the news, take calls.
11am to 12pmPlan afternoon

Schedule for the week

Check on managers (phone)

12pm to 1pmLunch with CEO and supplier
1pm to 2pm
2pm to 3pmMeet with managers
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internship with the company

What was the application process?
Submit resume, interview with the owners and CEO

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I had to interview 3 times to get the job. You first meet with the CEO then with the owners of the company in one-on-one interviews and group.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Not specifically, questions about past experience within the company, questions about goals, and situational questions.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
For the most part, in this industry most of what you need to know comes with experience. They do offer classroom and field training and assist you when you need it.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I am qualified because I started as an intern in college and worked my way up as district manager, general manager, VP. I learned everything I need to know in the company and can apply skills I learned in college to enhance my profit margin and overall sales.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not really, economics is mostly theory based and this job is very practical in nature.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I attribute where I am to the internship.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Network with the business owners. If you’re still in school you can start with the internship, it teaches you everything you need to know from the ground up and you can make really good money while in school.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills are important, more important is a drive to succeed and motivation to stay on task. General computer skills are important too.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
College degree (4 year)

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Work hard to expand your territory, improve sales, budget and plan ahead. You can get assistance from the CEO but it helps to be self motivated.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I am responsible for the state of Ohio. I am in control of expansion and have no cap on income potential. I have plenty of free time and enjoy a high quality of life.

What are your current career goals?
Expand my district.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I worked really hard to land this position and thank myself every day that I didn’t pursue a prestigous career that pays as much (or less) with long hours and a boring environment. I HIGHLY recommend working for a growing small business, I have more job security than my friends working for fortune 500s and have a higher income potential. I like my boss.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1InternSummerMin wageEntry level financial planning, cold calling, faxes, shredding, cost-basis, etc…
Prior Job 2AnalystOne yearMin wageAssisted with financial modeling, update traunch lists, networked with clients, assist with market research, etc..

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.53Michigan StateB.A. Economics
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.