Sales Manager (Male, Age 26) in Gulf Breeze, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 26 who works as a Sales Manager in Gulf Breeze, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSales Manager
Salary$75,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week55
Company Size(not answered)
LocationGulf Breeze, NY
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We sell a product in the US and outside of the United States. We have about 40000 people in the company.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I manage a sale department.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I have all benefits listed about. 30 days of leave a year.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel well compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work alot of different people everyday. I love this aspect of my job. I enjoy meeting different people.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in your average office building. I enjoy it with the exception of no windows.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amGer ready for the morning meeting. Make sure my power point slides are updated with current information for my supervisor.
8am to 9amGo to the morning meeting. Brief my slides and answer any questions.
9am to 10amAnswer email or return phone calls that I missed during that night.
10am to 11amMove on to new business. Start calling new customers and try to make some sales.
11am to 12pmGo to lunch. I love the mexican place down the street. Great lunch menu.
12pm to 1pmHave a team meeting with other sales managers. Make sure everybody is on the right page.
1pm to 2pmMake more phone calls to customers. Fallowed up with old customers to make sure they are happy with our products and to see if they would like to palce a new order.
2pm to 3pmSent out some email’s for people who I could not contact over the phone. I hate doing this part.
3pm to 4pmTake a 15 minute break then go back into another meeting with the boss. Brief them on where my team is at for the day and the some of the sales we made for the day.
4pm to 5pmStart to wrap up and hopefully get out of the office before 5. Sometimes it happens and sometimes it does not.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
Submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. 2 interviews. and with 1 individual

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What were my strong attributes. One think I didn’t like about myself. What I could bring to the company. What I was looking at as far as a salary.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. They told me it was gonna get frustrating at times and be alot of hard work. It was all that plus a little more.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, took several classes on how to talk to people to sell them a product.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. My business degree really helped.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to school. Get a degree. Be a hard worker!

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills, Speaking in front of people, and a hard worker.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yea

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be ready to make sacrafices.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I hope to move up through promotions and maybe take over the company one year.

What are your current career goals?
Become in charge of the company.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It has been fulfilling so far.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.6

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8Columbia Souther UniversityAssociates in Business
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.