(Female, Age 30) from RESEDA, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 30 who works as a Accountant in RESEDA, CA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Accountant
Salary $75,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location RESEDA, CA
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A large firm that specializes in commercial remodels. There are 100 employees

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am the company’s accountant. I pay the bills, do payroll, taxes, and take care of the insurance

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
insurance, 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I like working with other people and interacting with them

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Large office in a large building on the 10th floor. I love working in a tall building with a great view.I dislike having to wait for the elevator and the parking is bad

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: -1
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 1

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I have to go through 3 interviews with several of the management

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Experience, work history, future, stability

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes very much so. I spent two weeks going through training and it was adequate.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I learned most of my training in my former position. Yes I was trained by the person that I replaced at the company.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes having a degree in accounting helped me tremendously.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes it did

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to college and get a degree in accounting and work your way up

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
accounting and personnel skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Get in the door in any position for a company that you want to work for and work your way up to the position you want.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I love what I do.

What are your current career goals?
To build a long term future with this company

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Accountant 2 years 55000 Accountant with mortage company. Handled loans, prepared taxes. payroll
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
4 CSUN Accounting Major
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.