Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor/Couinseling Psychologist (Female, Age 37) in Brooklyn, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 37 who works as a Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor/Couinseling Psychologist in Brooklyn, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleVocational Rehabilitation Counselor/Couinseling Psychologist
Salary$74,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBrooklyn, NY
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
US Department of Veteran Affairs. I work for the Federal Government.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I work with service connnceted disabled veterans. I establish if they are eligible for vocational/education benefits. I do vocational and individual counseling with them.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Medial, Dental, 501(k)

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with people all day/ There are 8 other counselors, the director and of course the Veterans we serve. I enjoy it. When i have a problem case I can go to other couselros for feedback.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office. The only thin I don’t like is we have cubicles instead of offices. Sometimes I am dealiong with sensitive issues and the discussion needs to be private.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 5
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrive at work at 7:30. revie my calendar of appointments for that day. Have a quick cup of tea.
8am to 9amGet all the charts of the clients I am supposed to see. Gather all forms. Check the psycho-social information jot down any points I need further clarification on.
9am to 10amMeeting with my first appointment of the day. Complete assessment of Military history, education, family, disabilities and limitation, educational testing information, career goal, constructing plan.
10am to 11amWiritng notes of first appoiontment in the computer system. Writing as much of the assessment narrative before my next appointment.
11am to 12pm2nd Appointment of the morning. Complete assessment of Military history, education, family, disabilities and limitation, educational testing information, career goal, constructing plan.
12pm to 1pmLunch. Sit with co-workers, eat talk and laugh about our lives, children, TV and shopping.
1pm to 2pmComplete narravtive of first appointment (9 am) start paperwork on second appointment.
2pm to 3pmFollow up appointment with a Veteran already in the program. Get updates on how they are doing in training/school. Personla counsling on any needs or issues in their lives.
3pm to 4pmComplete paperwork for the second appointment, write notes in chart on Follow up appointment.
4pm to 5pmReturn phone calls, emails, faxing of form if needed, filing. Payning bills related to Veterans training Review calendar for the next day
5pm to 6pmTravel home. listen to my Ipod while reading the newspaper.
6pm to 7pmCook dinner. Call my parents or sibilings. Spend time with boyfirned talking about his day and my day.
7pm to 8pmEat dinner. Check and send email. Talk on the phone
8pm to 9pmWatch TV with boyfrined. Continue to talk with him about whatever comes to mind
9pm to 10pmShower/bathe – get clothers ready for work the next day.
10pm to 11pmWatch the early news (NYC) for the weather. Watch my favorit 10 pm show – CSI!
11pm to 12amGo to sleep and get rested for the next day.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
A friend told me the Va was hiring and I followed up with the info given and applied.

What was the application process?
Application, resume and answering a series of counseling questions to test your knowledge

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I met with the director and what would be all of my co-workers.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
How long have I worked in the field? What disabilities have I worked with? What skills do i bring to the department? Am I comuter literate? Do I need constant supervision?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, upon getting the position. The first day I was given all the laws and the mauals that I needed. I worked for a month with one of the senior counselors to show me all the little things I needed to know.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Not really, you have to have the Master’s degree in the field of Rehabilitaion Counseling. Once I got the job I got all the details of the way the government does things.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, Have the advanced degree – my education was specialized to the field I am in.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, it gave me hands on experience. You cannot learn counseling from a book.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get thier Masters Degree. You have an educational requirement that has to be met for my career. The work in the field a coupke of years beofre trying to work at the governemtn level. It is more intense on this level.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You HAVE to have social skills – if you don’t like people or don’t have patience – don’t try this. You have to be organized, have great time management skills and some basic knowledge of computers. You also haveto be self motivated – get in and get the job done you have to be responsible for your job – you are dealing with peoples lives – it is NOT a game.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
You do – a Master’s Degree.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Relax, and enjoy the people you work with. Enjoy your clients. It is hard enough for them to come to you – make them feel relaxed, comfortable, but most important – you have to care.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, this is my career – this is what I studied really hard for and I am fullfill by my job – on the good and bad days.

What are your current career goals?
To one day be Director of the Vocational Division for my regional office.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I wouldl also like to branch oput and do some private practice of my own.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Vocational Director6 years46500Director of the Vocational Counseling Unit in a Methadone treatment program within a city Hospital. Responsible for supervision of 5 staff memebers, but maintaining a caseload of my own. Testing, assessment, and counsling of clients leading toward employument.
Prior Job 2Vocational Director8 years40500Direct of the Vocational Counseling Unit in a Methadone treatment program within a substance abuse treatment center. Responsible for supervision of 3 staff memebers, but maintaining a caseload of my own. Testing, assessment, and counsling of clients leading toward employument.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.7

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5MaryMount Tarrytown CollegeBA – Psychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.8New York UniversityMA- Rehabilitation Counseling

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.