Network Engineer (Male, Age 27) in Evans, GA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 27 who works as a Network Engineer in Evans, GA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Network Engineer
Salary $70,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Evans, GA
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I am a Captain in the US Army.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am a network engineer for the battalion.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance (tricare), government retirement plan, 24 days of leave/year

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I collaborate with supervisors and serve as a supervisor to others. This is something I enjoy a great deal.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am PT (physical training)
8am to 9am daily office work
9am to 10am daily office work
10am to 11am trouble shooting with colonel’s staff
11am to 12pm lunch hour
12pm to 1pm return to troubleshooting
1pm to 2pm afternoon briefing
2pm to 3pm meeting with staff and birthday recognizition
3pm to 4pm daily office work
4pm to 5pm plan tomorrow’s schedule and brief
5pm to 6pm leave work
6pm to 7pm at home
7pm to 8pm at home
8pm to 9pm at home
9pm to 10pm at home
10pm to 11pm at home
11pm to 12am at home

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
commissioned through ROTC program

What was the application process?
commissioned through ROTC program

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I did not interview for the job. I joined the Army through an ROTC commission.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
n/a

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, the course was in great detail and allowed hands-on training for the task at hand.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There was a year-long course involved in training for this position.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I hold both a B.S. and a M.S. in engineering.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I did not have an internship experience.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would encourage a potential job seeker to be well-versed in technical matters, especially those dealing with computers and networks. As for joining the military, it takes an great dedication and sacrifice on both the part of the individual and the family.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Technical/engineering skills are critical.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes, ideally a master’s degree in an engineering field, but at least a bachelor’s degree in engineering

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would advise an individual to stay on top of current trends/information as the field is constantly changing.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
This employment is part of my career plan to retire as an officer in a technical field.

What are your current career goals?
My current goals are to be promoted.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I enjoy my career a great deal and enjoy serving my country even more.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 1LT 2 years 55000 S-1 officer (human resources) and head of warehouse support.
Prior Job 2 2LT 2 years 50000 Platoon leader and Company executive officer.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 Virginia Tech BS Engineering
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.8 Washington State University MS Engineering

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.