Teacher (Female, Age 31) in fontana, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 31 who works as a Teacher in fontana, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleTeacher
Salary$65,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationfontana, NY
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A medium-large sized public school district.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am an early elementary teacher.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
10 days sick, 3 months off, full health, dental, vision

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes and I like it because it helps things go easier

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
classroom/school like: close to home, roomy dislike: old

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrive at school site, prep for the day (make copies, set up room, check email)
8am to 9amKids arrive, start language arts lessons
9am to 10amTeach English Language Development for the English Learners, go to recess
10am to 11amContinue with LA
11am to 12pmLunch
12pm to 1pmStart Math lessons
1pm to 2pmContinue math. Recess
2pm to 3pmScience/Social Studies
3pm to 4pmClean up room, dismiss kids
4pm to 5pmGet ready for the next day (make copies, phone calls, meetings, etc.)

Go home

5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet

What was the application process?
electronic ap

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, 1 interview with 2 principals

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
questions about why I want to teach and what I do to make sure the students learn.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No but my schooling did

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, during the credential process you do 2 student teaching assignments where you work in a classroom.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes my student teaching was very valuable

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
na

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Start working in the district as a sub or an aide so that you can network.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
very organized, social, able to work alone and with others, love kids, patient, creative, lots of energy

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes at least a BA and credential, a master’s is best

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be ready for long hours, lots of stress, and lots of rewards

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, being in education is my long term plan

What are your current career goals?
Continue in education

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It’s hard work but the best job ever!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Sub Teacher12 months5000Day-to-Day classroom subbing
Prior Job 2Teacher5 years60000classroom teaching

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5Azusa PacificBA English Lit
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.8Azusa PacificMA Education

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.