Nurse Consultant (Female, Age 20) in Merced, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 20 who works as a Nurse Consultant in Merced, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleNurse Consultant
Salary$60,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMerced, CA
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a private group of lawyers who utilize my services in cases pertaining to my field.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I go over case files and using my medical background, determine who was at fault and what should have taken place.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
8 weeks vacation, health insurance, social security, retirement plan, sick leave

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Not always, but most of the time.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amHad a conference call with the lawyer at 8:30. Have to re-review certain part of the case.
9am to 10amSpent the hour reviewing files.
10am to 11amAte breakfast. Continued reviewing files.
11am to 12pmReviewing files (cont.).
12pm to 1pmWent to lunch.
1pm to 2pm
2pm to 3pmCalled the lawyer with question about the case.
3pm to 4pmPrepared papers and statement for court.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Friend referred me.

What was the application process?
The lawyer reviewed my work and asked references about my character and work.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
None.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. There wasn’t much preparing necessary.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Definitely. I had a Bachelors in Nursing already and was finishing my law degree when I was hired.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Never had internship.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to nursing school. Spend a few years in the field and make contacts with lawyers and other nurse consultants. Depending on the lawyer you collaborate with you may need, and in most cases will need, to pursue your education to finish a masters in law.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Outspoken, Critical, Social Skills, Organizational skills, Good reading comprehension, good speech skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Focus and work hard.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No.

What are your current career goals?
To retire in less than 5 years and move to Montana.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It is a very fulfilling career and I would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of this type of career. Just be prepared to do a lot of travel.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Instructor21 years50000
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.6Merced CollegeBachelors in Nursing
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
4Excelsior Online CollegeMasters in Law

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.