Maintenance Engineer 

(Female, Age 33) from fort smith, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 33 who works as a Maintenance Engineer in fort smith, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Maintenance Engineer
Salary $56,000
Other Compensation None Set
Company Size (not answered)
Location fort smith, NY
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
work for proppants plant, servicing equipment. make ceramic pellets for oil industry

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
maintain equipment, preventive maintenance, safety inspections

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401k, paid time off, ppo health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes. work with team of 5 maintenance/electricians. somedays like, somedays dislike.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
industrial plant. very dirty because of the clay used to create pellets. do not care for dirt.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper add

What was the application process?
paper application/resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. met with supervisor, had extensive interview, took some competency tests. had second interview. started work within 2 weeks

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
basic questions. previous experience, like/dislike about jobs, how the environment was,

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
just come to the plant and fill out application.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
mechanical, problem solving, must have patience and pay attention to details

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no college necessary

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be in it for the long haul. not a job for someone that doesnt want to do hard work.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.