Director Of Human Resources (Female, Age 41) in bradenton, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 41 who works as a Director Of Human Resources in bradenton, FL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleDirector Of Human Resources
Salary$54,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationbradenton, FL
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
10 locations, 250 employees, breakfast and lunch restaurant chain

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
legal, compliance, employment verifications, professional development, coaching,

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 wks vacation, 3 personal/sick days, medical insurance, dental insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
undercompensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
i work with others on a daily basis. I can have around 30 contacts a day. I dislike handling guest complaints but always make them feel better by the time we are off the phone.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 5
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amResponded to email regarding upcoming litigation. Researched employee data to submit to the governmental agency to defend our position. This information included a census of all employees at all locations to disprove discrimination.
9am to 10amCreated a formal response to the governmental agency including supporting data to defend our position. Faxed the response to the appropriate caseworker. Conducted two wage verifications for current employees seeking state assistance. This verification includes pay history, job title and hours worked.
10am to 11amHad an update meeting with the Vice President regarding issues in the field. We discussed employee shortages, management vacations and upcoming holiday activities. We also discussed adding additional staff due to our busy season approaching.
11am to 12pmIn preparation for the upcoming holiday, we decided to continue our adopt a family. We are planning on sponsoring three families to ensure gifts are received for the less fortunate.
12pm to 1pm
1pm to 2pmTelephone unemployment hearing. We are contesting an employee filing for unemployment since her termination was due to gross misconduct. I had already forwarded disciplinary actions, pages from our employee handbook, and her written termination to the unemployment referee. The other party received a copy of the documents as well so that this information could be presented as evidence. We are put under oath and each side is asked specific questions about the reason for termination. A decision is generally mailed to both parties within a week or so after the hearing.
2pm to 3pmNewly hired manager had a meeting with me to discuss their benefits. Managers are provided with documentation outlining specific medical, dental benefits as well as vacation and personal/sick time. The manager had questions regarding each policy and we walked through them together.
3pm to 4pmBegan planning for legal interviews the week after next. There is litigation pending and I just scheduled all witnesses to be interviewed by our attorney. I reassured all witnesses they did not have any concerns. This lawsuit involves a former employee who alleges she received sexual harassment.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper

What was the application process?
Submitted resume and cover letter via fax

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had 3 interviews. One was with the owner, one with the Director of Finance and a final interview with the owner.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I have the benefit of being certified in Foodservice Management and Human Resources so I was selected based on my extensive human resources background as well as expertise in the restaurant environment. A large number of my skill sets are specific to the restaurant industry, although I can easily adapt to any environment.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes and no. I knew I was the first human resources employee hired for this company. What they didn’t tell me was that I needed to scramble and put them into compliance for the previous 10 years.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There is training for human resources. Oftentimes, I see individuals given the position without the formal training and they are set up to fail. Constant development is necessary to maintain qualifications for this job. Certification is key.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Absolutely! My working experience in the restaurant industry was essential to my current role. Also, my associates degree taught me where to locate any type of information needed to reinforce liability exposure.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I had the opportunity to work in a professional employer organization with 650 clients and 40,000 employees. I had the fast track of all sorts of employment issues, law, regulations and negotiations.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
You would have to begin at an entry level position. To obtain a position like mine, you will need an extensive background in all arenas of employment law and you are better off with certification.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Nothing is black and white. You need negotiating skills, able to use logic to process a situation, excellent recall on laws and regulation, excellent listening skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No necessarily. I know peers who have Master’s degrees but cannot process the information they learned

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
It can be a very rewarding job, but also somewhat of a lonely job. You must distance yourself socially from all employees, including corporate staff in order to remain objective.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes-I will retire from this job. It is extremely rewarding and the company is growing.

What are your current career goals?
To add additional benefits that even help the hourly employees. I want to volunteer for local boards and give back to the community using my employer.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It requires patience

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Human Resources Consultant4 years35000Advised offsite clients in a range of employee issues based on state and jurisdiction
Prior Job 2Human Resources Manager2 yearsHuman resources for a local concrete firm

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7NewportAssociates
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.