Office Manager/Closing Coordinator (Female, Age 39) in Tannersville, PA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 39 who works as a Office Manager/Closing Coordinator in Tannersville, PA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager/Closing Coordinator
Salary$50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationTannersville, PA
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We are a Title insurance company doing real estate closing for the purpose of buying and selling or refinance. We currently have on staff 4 full time employees and 1 part time

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
open and process all files for closing – coordinate closings with buyers/sellers/realtors and mortgage companies, order mortgage payoffs, utilities final readings, work with property associations, record deeds and mortgages, etc

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance, 401K, 3 weeks vacation, sick & personal days (7 per year)

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
on work with many people on a daily basis. I very much like this part about my job. I get to meet many new people even if it is only by phone conversation.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 1
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8ammy daily commute to work
8am to 9amgo over all files on my desk – see what is on the schedule for the day – what files need to be processed for a closing – what files need searches/taxes ordered
9am to 10ammake all calls for closing on the day – order any final water/sewer or utilities.
10am to 11amstart preparing my closing files for the following day – draft settlement sheets, affidavits, deeds, 1099, etc.
11am to 12pmcopy all files – may start closing any files from am closings – sending payoffs and mortgage packages out.
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmclose out all am closing files – send the mortgage pacakages and payoffs out by overnight mail. Send deed and mortgage to recorders office. send all other payments (ie taxes,dues,sewer,water,etc) out to appropriate parties with buyer’s information
2pm to 3pmstill working on closing files – may have some from early afternoon. If no closing files to work on – I will start processing files and typing title commitments.
3pm to 4pmprocessing new files – order searches and taxes type any title commitments for which the search comes in
4pm to 5pmdo a check on what has been processed for the day – make notes for the next day – process and prepare any closing statements for closings taking place within the next 2 days.
5pm to 6pmcommute home
6pm to 7pmprepare supper for my family
7pm to 8pmdo any continuing education requirements needed or relax and spend time with my family
8pm to 9pmrelax and spend time with family
9pm to 10pmsame as 8-9
10pm to 11pmwatch local news – go to sleep
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
submitted resume and filled out an application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes – I met with my current employer and we discussed how I could benefit the company with my experience and knowledge of title insurance and real estate closings. I only had one interview and was hired.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what did I expect from the company? how much money was I looking for and what type of benefits? Where do I see myself in 5-10 years? and I know there were others but these are the ones I can think of.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
n/a

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
n/a

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
apply to a title company as a secretary/receptionist to learn the basics of title search and closing procedures. This is how I got my start in the business

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
data entry – attention to detail. most of our work is done with data entry putting all property information into a file and INFORMATION must be acurate.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
continue there education with this field – there is a constant change to the real estate profession – we do a minimum of 24 hours of continiung education every 2 years to learn the current issues and legalities of this business

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes – i plan on a career in the title industry until i retire.

What are your current career goals?
to be the best i can be as a licensed title agent

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
truly a fasinating career

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Administrative Asst3 years10.00 per hourMarketing for commercial development, bookkeeping
Prior Job 2Secretary2 years25,000.00 yearProcess listing contracts for properties for sale.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.