Senior Claims Adjuster (Male, Age 30) in College Point, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 30 who works as a Senior Claims Adjuster in College Point, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSenior Claims Adjuster
Salary$50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationCollege Point, NY
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a large rental car company with locations worldwide.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I settle and negotiate property damage claims. This includes providing customer service to clients.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks vacation , 401k matching, profit sharing

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Underpaid

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with other team members in my department. I like this aspect of my job because I am able to mentor and learn new ideas from my colleagues.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amOpen new claims and establish file folders. Request documents from the branch and begin work on new claims. Listen to voicemail messages.
9am to 10amReturn messages and contact the new claims. Establish a starting point to have a claim resolved.
10am to 11amFollow up with insurance carriers and renters to see when payment will be issued for claims assessed.
11am to 12pmStill working on following up with trying to obtain payments for files found on accounts receivable list.
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmCheck messages and contact customers that contacted me.
2pm to 3pmReceipt payments received and contact customers or insurance carriers for missing payments.
3pm to 4pmContact rental branches requesting additional information to help settle claims that I have throughout the day.
4pm to 5pmFollow up with customers as to what is owed and send bills to them.
5pm to 6pmend of day.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
Resume and then interview.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had one interview with the branch manager after submitting my resume.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I do not remember.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes they did. I had a grasp of the job I was going to do within a reasonable time frame.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Hands on training with another adjuster.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes my ability to analyze further advanced my knowledge in the field.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Must have the ability to be well organized and have great customer service skills.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They must be well organized, observant, patient, and have great customer service skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
To be patient and learn the basics of the job at first. This will help you setup for success.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is not due to economic conditions I need to find another career path.

What are your current career goals?
I hope to be in the law field somehow.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
This career is a step towards a better career but not a place to stay long term.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Senior Claims Adjuster550000Negotiate and settle property damages claims. Make sure branches are compliant with their underwriting guideless through effective branch visits.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3Hofstra UniversityEnglish Literature
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.