Tow Truck Operator 

(Female, Age 30) from Hyannis, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 30 who works as a Tow Truck Operator in Hyannis, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Tow Truck Operator
Salary $49,000
Other Compensation None Set
Company Size (not answered)
Location Hyannis, NY
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
There are approximately 20 people working for my employer. I work for a full service auto business that provides auto repair, auto body, 24 hour towing and auto sales.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I operate a tow truck providing customers with roadside assistance (towing, jump starts, tire changes, lock outs, winching). I also tow for the local and state police impounding cars and recovering auto wrecks.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
1 week paid vacation per year, no other benifits available

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I usually work alone. The only people I have interactions with would be customers. My co-workers are doing their own jobs. I’m in the truck by myself most of the time. Sometimes I don’t mind the peace and quiet, other times I get fairly lonely.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I am in a flat bed tow truck in the field. I dislike being open to the elements, especially in the winter.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 2

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper ad

What was the application process?
I had to bring in a copy of my DMV report and fill out an application.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
There was just one interview with the general manager. It was an individual interview and lasted around 20 minutes.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
He asked if I minded hard work or getting dirty. He laid out how the position is paid (commission) and the hours involved. He asked about my driving history and whether I could pass a drug test.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Probably, not to. 🙂 Look for a company that takes good care of their employees and doesn’t treat them like machines.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
COMMON SENSE! You have to be able to gauge angles and have good customer service skills. You have to be able to grin and bear it despite weather or working conditions.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be prepared to not see your family much, sleep when you get the chance and have good rain gear.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.