Special Education Teacher 

(Female, Age 46) from Midlothian, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 46 who works as a Special Education Teacher in Midlothian, IL. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Special Education Teacher
Salary $48,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 50
Company Size (not answered)
Location Midlothian, IL
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a public school District which employs around 350 people.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
My responsibilities include writing and implementing student IEP\’s, creating and enforcing a behavior management plan, keeping data on student goals and objectives, modifying school curriculum to best meet my students needs, working cooperatively with gen ed teachers to mainstream my students in when appropriate, evaluate classroom assistants, scheduling and running all student IEP/annual review meetings.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
12 sick, 3 personal, 2 bereavement, Blue cross/Blue shield health care which includes dental and vision.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel undercompensated as my job is a lot of work from day to day.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.