Financial Specialist (Female, Age 28) in Middleton, WI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Financial Specialist in Middleton, WI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleFinancial Specialist
Salary$46,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMiddleton, WI
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a company with 180 people. We work on retirement investments for members.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I work on financial reporting of monthly payments for retirement accounts.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health, retirement account

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I am well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with others in my work unit. We cover for each other on accounts. I also work with outside businesses by phone. I like this as it makes everyday different. It’s not the same job every day.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office. I like that it’s a great group of people who get along. I hate working in a cubicle.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrice at 7:30 for work. Go through e-mails and phone messages and return any that are needed. Several calls regarding late payments for retirement accounts. One phone call requesting the status of a retirement account split due to divorce.
8am to 9amMeeting about new computer system. I am not a leader, but give imput regarding the applications that our unit uses. We are looking at setting up a whole new system of reporting that can be done on the Internet.
9am to 10amSame meeting as above.
10am to 11amSame meeting as above.
11am to 12pmLunch. Then entered payment information from clients into database.
12pm to 1pmEntered payment information into database.
1pm to 2pmMeeting regarding changes to the retirement system.
2pm to 3pmAudit database values to retirement accounts to customers.Answered call regarding missing payment.
3pm to 4pmAudit database values to retirement accounts to customers.Leave at 4 o clock. Cleaned out my mailbox with any mail from day. All were in house memos. Read and filed.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper ad

What was the application process?
Submitted resume, paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I interviewed twice with two different panels of interviewers. They described the jobm, asked about my experiences.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Financial studies. Past jobs. Experience overall.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I had excellent training. It was especially great because it was from the person who had my job previously. We also have a manual with written instructions on how to do half of our tasks.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. I had informal in house training from the person who previously had my job. He taught me how to complete all of my duties.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I took several financial and accounting classes in college. A lot of the reports that I competed were taught in these clauses.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Have a good solid education, especially in business. Have some experience in the finance field. Have some customer service experience.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Must be able to talk to customers. Must be organized, able to multitask. Must be able to use Microsoft Office.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, must have a bachelors degree.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Don’t get behind on work. Ask for help if you need it. Spend time iwth your coworkers because you will rely on each other.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I want to stay in finance and become a supervisor. I’m at the highest level for financial positions so I’m close to becoming a supervisor.

What are your current career goals?
To become a financial supervisor.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1pa23 years25000I worked for the State of Wisconsin working as a ledgerkeeper. This means I kept financial data.
Prior Job 2asst mgr5 years25000I worked as an assistant manager during college. I supervised others.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8uw-milwaukeereal estate/finance
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.