Truck Driver (Male, Age 50) in chickamauga, GA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 50 who works as a Truck Driver in chickamauga, GA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleTruck Driver
Salary$45,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationchickamauga, GA
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
usxpress enterprises trucking/logistics

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
drive a truck

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical, dental, vision

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
do not work with others, i like this about my job

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
on the road in a truck

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amnone
8am to 9amnone
9am to 10amget ready for work
10am to 11amleave the house
11am to 12pmarrive at work, get in truck and drive
12pm to 1pmarrive at first stop drop load and pickup load
1pm to 2pmdrive
2pm to 3pmdrive
3pm to 4pmarrive at next stop unload pickup trailer and head back to origin
4pm to 5pmdrive
5pm to 6pmdrive
6pm to 7pmdrive
7pm to 8pmdrive
8pm to 9pmdrive
9pm to 10pmarrive home
10pm to 11pmn/a
11pm to 12amn/a

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
hired on in person

What was the application process?
resume, paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
group interview, physical, and a weeks oreintation at location

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
no

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, a lot of experience

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, i went to driving school

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
none needed

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
go to a college offering a truck driving school and get as much experience as possible before hiring on at a large company

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
organization, responsible, reliable,

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes, adequate training is a must

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
look for extra training from a professional other than what is offered in school

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
wasnt supposed to be but it is now

What are your current career goals?
none

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
none

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1owner/operator4 yrs154000owner/operator of truck
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
n/an/an/a
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/an/an/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.