Teacher (Female, Age 24) in bolivar, OH

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Teacher in bolivar, OH. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Teacher
Salary $45,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size (not answered)
Location bolivar, OH
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We teach an approximate of 500 children. The school is made up of a large staff that attends to many grade levels.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I teach american history to juniors and seniors. I tutor students who need the extra help.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, 6 sick days per year

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated all teachers are.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I teach and educate. I am very interactive with my classes and my students appreciate all the time and effort I give for them.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 8
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Arrive at the school of employment.
8am to 9am Go to classroom, have a little breakfast and relax with a newspaper.
9am to 10am Bell rings and students are in homeroom for attendance. The bell rings again after 10 minutes and first class of the day begins.Go over the critera for the day and teach. This repeats every hour to half hour until the end of the day.
10am to 11am Bell rings and second class begins.
11am to 12pm Lunch break for everyone. I eat.
12pm to 1pm Bell rings and third period begins.
1pm to 2pm bell rings and 4th period begins.
2pm to 3pm bell rings and 5th and 6th period begin.
3pm to 4pm 7th and th take place.
4pm to 5pm Everyone returns to their homes or elsewhere.
5pm to 6pm I organize and get paperwork together and leave.
6pm to 7pm Arrive home, make dinner and grade the previous days homework.
7pm to 8pm Relax, watch some tv.
8pm to 9pm Bedtime.
9pm to 10pm sleep
10pm to 11pm sleep
11pm to 12am sleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
resume, interview face to face, and a trial period.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I was interviewed by the principal and we talked about my background and qualifications for the position.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Where did I go to school and why I wanted to teach.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I do. If I had problems or questions they had someone come in the class with me.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Just going into the classroom and seeing how the students did in my care.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes of course. That is the only way I was prepared.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Be passionate about what they want to do and to go to school and not rush through it but embrace learning your career.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
I think they should be sincere and smart about the subject they are studying to teach. To be a good people person and to be able to respond quickly to any problems or situations that may occur.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes for sure. Years of professional training and educating.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Just go with the flow and have a good time.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, this has been my dream to teach.

What are your current career goals?
To teach and retire from this career knowing I had made a difference.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It is a very rewarding career!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 store assistant 2 years 15000 Ran the store, dealt with customers and cashiers and organized the store and dealt with the financial parts.
Prior Job 2 laborer 3 years 10000 Prepared food and rang customers up and cleaned the lobby.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
4 Ohio State History
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.