Administrative Assistant 

(Female, Age 38) from Temple Hills, MD

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 38 who works as a Administrative Assistant in Temple Hills, MD. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Administrative Assistant
Salary $43,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Temple Hills, MD
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
The organization for which I work analyze policies, evaluate programs, and inform community development to improve social, civic, and economic well-being.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I perform general clerical and administrative duties such as the creation and editing of documents, and the creation of charts and presentations.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I interact with a staff of almost 40 people and must interact with at least a portion of them daily. On some days I don’t mind the interaction, on others, I’d prefer working alone.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office in an office building. There is nothing particular that I dislike about it. I like that I have my own, private office.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Booted up my computer. Picked up incoming faxes and disseminated them. Filled printers and faxes with paper for the day.
8am to 9am Began working on editing the 323 page proposal. Editing includes checking for errors in the document (spelling errors, alignment, completeness) via my eyes and computer.
9am to 10am Continue editing the proposal as described previously.
10am to 11am Still editing the proposal as described previously.
11am to 12pm Lunch
12pm to 1pm Disseminated incoming faxes. Sorted incoming mail. Arranged for courier pickup of package going to the U.S Capital. Prepared and stuffed 20 boxes for FedEx pickup.
1pm to 2pm Continued editing the proposal as described previously.
2pm to 3pm Continued editing the proposal, as described previously.
3pm to 4pm Sorted incoming mail. Sent two faxes for the director.
4pm to 5pm Headed home.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I began working there as a temp and they hired me.

What was the application process?
Resume and paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I did not interview because I was already working there as a temp.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
N/A – not interviewed

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I have a Bachelors and feel over-qualified for this position.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend that they have some prior experience or training in skills that are necessary to an office environment.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
The person should have good interpersonal skills (to get along with others and express your thoughts clearly), and have computer skills such as MS Word, Excel, and PowerPoint so that they can perform their daily tasks well.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I don’t feel so, but a Bachelor’s was required for my particular job.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Learn all that you can on the job.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No. I had a plan other than this, to start my own business.

What are your current career goals?
I plan to return to grad school but have not decided on anything specific just yet.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No, but thanks.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Administrative Support 1 year $15 per hour Administrative/office support to various agencies.
Prior Job 2 Customer Service Rep. 1 year $12 per hour Taking calls from customers to solve their issues.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 Maryland University Business Administration
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.