Communications Officer (911 Dispatcher) (Female, Age 26) in Whitmore Lake, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Communications Officer (911 Dispatcher) in Whitmore Lake, MI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCommunications Officer (911 Dispatcher)
Salary$42,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationWhitmore Lake, MI
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the University of Michigan Dept of Public Safety. There are approx 100 empolyees that work here. We are a full service Police Dept.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am a 911 dispatcher. I answer emergency and non-emergency calls for service and dispatch police services.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I have retirement benefits, health benefits (including eye, dental and medical) and life insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well/under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with others everyday/minute of my job. I do enjoy working with not only the public but also my co-workers

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 5

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referrel

What was the application process?
Paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I had to have an oral board with three bosses, take a psych test and then meet with the Chief. Also a written test was given

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I can’t remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. There were several weeks of training and there is always someone available to ask a question if needed.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, there was a 12 week training program with three different phrases. If you did not pass then you could not work the job

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. I think that this is a hands on training experince

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Have a clean backgound, be able to pass a pysch test, and most importantly be able to multi-task.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
A person should be able to multi-task, work well under pressure, be able to priortize and have good social skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Make sure that the person knows what their job actually takes.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I believe that I am going to retire from here. It has good benefits and retirement

What are your current career goals?

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Store Workersummer in college$11 an hourI pulled parts for assembly and put away stock
Prior Job 2PAC Counter3 years$6 an hourAnswered the phone, did laundry for the college sport teams, set up and take down for sporting events and worked the events

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5University of Southern IndianaSocial Work
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.