Human Resources, Benefits And Payroll (In A Corp Setting I Would Be A HR Generalist) (Female, Age 35) in Leavenworth, KS

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 35 who works as a Human Resources, Benefits And Payroll (In A Corp Setting I Would Be A HR Generalist) in Leavenworth, KS. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleHuman Resources, Benefits And Payroll (In A Corp Setting I Would Be A HR Generalist)
Salary$42,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationLeavenworth, KS
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a religous community that employs mainly nursing staff and service oriented workers.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am the benefits and payroll person for the company. I am the “go to” person for all benefits and insurance questions that our employee’s have. I also process a biweekly payroll.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Medical, Dental, Life, Ad&D, 403B with Vested Match, Defined Benefit Plan, 26 days of PTO, Paid Holiday’s and Paid Birthday. I also have a very nice office with full length windows that really open! (a perk)

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I am well compensated for the small city that I work and live in.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work closely with our employees, vendors, and corporate office. I pride myself on being the approachable and empathetic HR lady.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I am employeed in a small city that is close to my home. I love the 7 minute commute to work, and the fact that it is near my son’s school is a huge bonus. I have a beautiful and serene campus to drive onto every day, and I am lucky that my office overlooks the beautiful grounds.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 8
Benefits: 7
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 1
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrive at work by 7:30 a.m., unlock my office door and change my daily voicemail greeting. This is Tracy, Human Resources and Payroll. Today is xxxxx and I’m in the office. Leave a message and I will return the call as soon as I’m able.
8am to 9amAnswer voicemails, emails, and any notes that were slid under my door by the night shift nurses.
9am to 10amDaily conference with my boss, who is the Director of HR, unless it is a payroll week. (On payroll weeks, my top priority to complete the process Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, until submitted.)
10am to 11amFollow up on Workmans comp claims, and issues.
11am to 12pmLunch
12pm to 1pmAnswer voicemail and emails.
1pm to 2pmNew Hire Orientation. South Conference Room
2pm to 3pmNew Hire – Form Completion. W-2, K-4, I-9, Medical, Dental, Life, Ad&D beneficiary designations.
3pm to 4pmSend new hires back to their supervisors and enter info into payroll and time card system.
4pm to 5pm4:30 – 5:00 p.m. tidy up my office and leave for day, unless I have a scheduled meeting with a second shift employee.
5pm to 6pmPick up child from daycare.
6pm to 7pmCook dinner, homework, bath and bed
7pm to 8pmMe time
8pm to 9pmMe time
9pm to 10pmHead to bed and restart the next day.
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper

What was the application process?
Paper Application with Attached Resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had 4 interviews.

1. Impromptu screen when I dropped off my resume

2. Phone interview that lasted about an hour

3. Personal interview with Hiring Manager

4. Final interview with Management team, and offer.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Many that were inappropriate! LOL

It is important to know the culture of the company you are going to work for. In this instance, the interviewing parties were of a religous order

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. The HR office didn’t have a computer in it. To do payroll was to use an adding machine and carbon paper! Now, it is all web based.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Not really, my job has changed from what it was first advertised as. I’ve made it into what it is today.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
The education looks good on paper, but it was my experience and ability to adapt and make upgrades that has helped the most.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get your degree in Human Resources.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Personable, able to speak in front of groups, organized, able to be professional and able to handle making less money than others and not being resentful of it. (Meaning, in most companies this person will be writing bonus checks for VP’s, Directors, etc…. at times when other employees are getting laid off)

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Years of experience really helps a person mature. Education HR Law and Ethics is also important.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be prepared for every side of Human Nature.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Web Content Admin10 years35000I worked for the same company for many years however, I started as a receptionist, promoted to Marketing, promoted to Inside Sales, promoted to IT and Training.
Prior Job 2Same as above

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3JCCCBusiness Admin
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.