Medical Claim Reviewer/Data Entry/Medical Office Manager (Female, Age 32) in herculaneum, MO

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 32 who works as a Medical Claim Reviewer/Data Entry/Medical Office Manager in herculaneum, MO. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMedical Claim Reviewer/Data Entry/Medical Office Manager
Salary$42,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
Locationherculaneum, MO
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a local medical office review and submitting medical claims on behalf of our patients. I am also the office manager.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I review and sumbit medical claims to insurance companies and medicare. I also file and manage the billing/customer care center of the office.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation,delta dental,UHC health insurance,401 K, 4 personal paid days

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel I am well paid

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I deal with insurance companies,our customers,doctors and office staff.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
We talk alot about serving out patients the best way, getting their billing and benefit questions answered quickly and making them feel comfortable.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 3
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrive at work at 7am and unlock the doors. I do a quick skan of bathroom and the waiting area to make sure all looks clean and organized.
8am to 9amPatients start rolling in. I answer benefit questions and start making and taking calls about benefits and diagonis
9am to 10amA very busy time. I am on the computer billing and coding for our patients. I am submitting our bills to the insurance companies
10am to 11amI am still doing the above
11am to 12pmThis is lunch, I usually grab a book and lunch in our break area.
12pm to 1pmBack to the phones,computer and patients explaining there benefits, resubmitting claims that may need to be resubmitted to the health insurance
1pm to 2pmI am making payment plans and sometime printing out workers comp notes for the doctors to sign.
2pm to 3pmWe have a quick daily office meeting to go over anything we may need too. Also I am looking through and paying office utilites online.
3pm to 4pmI am wrapping up any phone calls that need to be made and preparing and printing bills to send our patients. I am also contacting people on outstanding balances.
4pm to 5pmI am on my way home.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I was referred by a friend who used to be a CNA there.

What was the application process?
Submitted resume personally

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I had one interview and we talked about my education,experience, benefits,people skills,salary. I was hired that day.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked if my hours could be flexible to work on weekends. I was asked about computer knowledge and typing skills. I was asked if I liked working in an office enviroment and dealing with customers in peron and on the phone.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, they were very helpful in me learning how their office does/handles things

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes I have a degree in Medical billing and coding. I also have prior employment with the medicare system and prudential insurance.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I do and I also beleive working in the fiels prior with an entry position did too. I already knew alot before attending school.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
First make sure you want to deal with the medical field. There is alot of coding to learn and also each insurance company does things a different way. Also you are going to get alot of patients that do not understand their benefits and you have to set up payment plans for many people.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
understanding and patience. A willingness to learn alot of numbers. Being fast at typing/computer skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Brush up on your data entry/computer/typing skills. Make sure your people skills are good too since you will be dealign with patients,doctors and insurance companies

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes and I plan on doing this for awhile until my kids are out of school.

What are your current career goals?
Right now it is to stay where I am. If the real estate market picks back up I may consider doing more of this type of job along with my regular job.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Its a stable choice since people will always need medical care.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1data entry2 years20000just data entered claim info, did not need to know codes,ect.
Prior Job 2claim reviewer1 year28000I reviewed claims that were submitted for an insurnace company and determined medicare payments.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Missouri collegeMedical coding ang billing
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.