Criminal Intelligence Analyst (Male, Age 25) in Oklahoma City, OK

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 25 who works as a Criminal Intelligence Analyst in Oklahoma City, OK. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCriminal Intelligence Analyst
Salary$42,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationOklahoma City, OK
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
My Bureau employs roughly between 100 and 150 employees, and is tasked with enforcement of Drug Laws in the State of Oklahoma

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am tasked with all aspects of Criminal Intelligence gathering, from the first surveillance on a potential suspect, to the prosecution of said suspect. I am versed in undercover surveillance techniques, and focus mainly on working undercover narcotics investigations.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Comprehensive Health, Dental, Vision; matching 401K, life insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, teamwork is imperative at my position as it most times is the difference between winning and losing a case. I enjoy the team dynamic that my position allows me, and consider myself very much a team player.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My office is located in a plaza building, surrounded with other state offices. Our office building is falling apart, but we are in the process of building another brand new office building specific to just our agency. I definately dislike the old, delapidated building we are in now, as it has horrible parking, and below-average management.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amTravel to work
8am to 9amArrive at work, begin to look through possible drug suspects; participated in strategy session about said suspects.
9am to 10amBegan background investigations on suspects, travelled to Confidential Informant’s house to obtain further information.
10am to 11amArrived at Confidential Informant’s house, found out current address of the girlfriend of drug suspect, also obtained information on the current dealings of the suspect.
11am to 12pmLunch
12pm to 1pmarrived back at office to breif my supervisor as to my findings on the suspect. Discussed whether or not to bring suspect in for interrigation, and decided to instead question his girlfriend.
1pm to 2pmLeft to travel to girlfriend’s house
2pm to 3pmArrived at Girlfriend’s house, placed her under arrest due to her uncooperative behavior when asked simple questions. Female decided to assult me, and was subsequentally put under arrest.
3pm to 4pmTransported arrested female back to agency.
4pm to 5pmInterrigated girlfriend as to her dealings with drug dealing boyfriend; girlfriend confessed to whereabouts of boyfriend, was released for her cooperation.
5pm to 6pmLeft for home.
6pm to 7pmArrived at home, started working on reports for case files; contacted other informants as to their whearabouts.
7pm to 8pmOff work
8pm to 9pmOff work
9pm to 10pmOff work
10pm to 11pmOff Work
11pm to 12amOff Work

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
College

What was the application process?
Submitted resume, participated in background investigation, submitted to polygraph examination, cousulted hiring board.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. The interview process consisted of first a background investigation, followed by a polygraph examination, and finally a hiring board.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Why I felt I was a good candidate for the position, What skills I possessed that I felt were important to the job, Where I felt myself going in the position.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I felt I was given all the tools necessary for optimal performance.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. It entailed shadowing current analysts and learning the position through asking questions and OTJ training.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. The dedication I needed to finish my degree has translated to my current position.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Most definately.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
First, obtain your bachellor’s degree, and then apply for an internship with our agency. After a comprehensive background check, you will be offered a chance to see what we do up close.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Ability to remain professional at all times, confidentially is a must, a good sense of team dynamic, and a strong sense of duty to the community.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
At least a Bachelollor’s degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Don’t expect to be able to change the world; take your victories where they come, and keep your head up.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I have always felt a desire to work in Criminal Justice, and feel this job directly fits into my view of where I wanted to go in life and career path.

What are your current career goals?
To move up within my agency, and be responsible for the facilitation of the mission goals of the agency. I would one day like to be the agency’s director.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Service Manager2 years25000responsible for the service of waiters and waitresses within my direct supervision.
Prior Job 2Manager1 year30000Tasked with any and all responsiblities necessary for the optimal running of the club; participated in all money handling duties necessary for the bussiness.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.05University of Central OklahomaCriminal Justice
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.