Owner/Manager (Male, Age 31) in denver, CO

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 31 who works as a Owner/Manager in denver, CO. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOwner/Manager
Salary$40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
Locationdenver, CO
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
computer repair, integration services

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
repair computers

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
yes

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes,

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
home

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amopen business
8am to 9amrepair
9am to 10amrepair
10am to 11amrepair
11am to 12pmlunch
12pm to 1pmrepair
1pm to 2pmrepair
2pm to 3pmrepair
3pm to 4pmclose at 4
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
opened it in 2005

What was the application process?
got a bank loan

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
no, i went into business with a partner

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
none

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, i own the business

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, bachelors degree in computer integration

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, i don’t think i would have opened it without the education

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
save enough money to start your own business

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
computer repair, integration repair

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
take some basic computer repair classes

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, I went to school to learn computer repair and i own my own business now

What are your current career goals?
move my business from my home to a business type place

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
i love what i do

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1i.t. manager5 years28000manage the i.t. department for the hospital
Prior Job 2owner6 years40000owner of Ziegler I.T.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.7

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8metro state college of denvercomputer repair
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.