Department Specialist Ii (Female, Age 43) in belle plaine, MN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 43 who works as a Department Specialist Ii in belle plaine, MN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleDepartment Specialist Ii
Salary$39,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationbelle plaine, MN
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Supervalu is a Fortune 100 company

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I research claims of denied vendor payments to determine if payment is actually due or not. If so, I process for payment, if not, I deny it.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks pto, medical, perscription, dental, vision insurance short and long term disability life, 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
We work independently predominantly via internet and email. I do enjoy working by myself. We do have teammates that are very nearby for assistance as needed.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office cubicle the only thing that i do not like about it is that it is very industrial with very little natural light.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Radio ad for a job fair

What was the application process?
job fair, submitted application, was interviewed on the spot and had 2 follow up interviews

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had an initial interview at the time of my application, was called back for a second interview with 2 possible supervisors then called back for a final interview/job offer again with two potential supervisors.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
The basics, why i would be an ideal candidate, what i could bring to the company, how i handled stress.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I feel that there should be some type of formalized training involved

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No formal training, just on the job training, watching a co-worker do the job, then jumping in and doing it myself.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I am working in an accounting department and have my degree in accounting. Many of the things I encounter would not have made sense if it were not for my education.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Obtain their degree in accounting.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
The ability to prioritize and be flexible with a working knowledge of accounting. To be open and friendly as well as maintain a high level of professionalism.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Pay attention to the details and understand that we are all on the same team so there is help available at any given moment.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
not really, would like to work in real estate

What are your current career goals?
I am obtaining my real estate license to be able to successfully support myself by selling real estate. I plan to stay employed in my current situation until that point.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Property Manager1 year12.00/hrLeasing apartments and maintaining landlord/tennant relationships
Prior Job 2Patient Account Rep3 years12.00/hourfollowed up on patient’s accounts by gaining payment from the insurance companies

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2University of PhoenixBusiness Administration/Finance
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.