Law Clerk (Female, Age 29) in Highland, IN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 29 who works as a Law Clerk in Highland, IN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleLaw Clerk
Salary$37,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationHighland, IN
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a private law firm with 3 attorneys

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
You name it, I do it! I do filing, send correspondence to clients, doctors offices and other attorneys. I complete interrogatories and abstract medical records. I order supplies and run errands, I also do all the translating for the Spanish speaking clients.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks of vacation time, 1 week of sick leave, health insurance through Anthem Blue Cross

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel undercompensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, some days its something I enjoy and other days it’s something i hate! Our clients are demanding and emotional and often drive me crazy but it does feel good to help them. There are certain people that I work with that go out of there way to help out and make a pleasant workplace and there are others that are lazy and dumb and think only of themselves.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a crumbling old office building. I used to wait tables so its nice not to have to be on my feet all day, its nice being in a climate controlled office but work a 9 to 5 desk job has its hardships too.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amAt home, getting ready for work
8am to 9amArrive at work at 8:30a, check voice mail, emails and To Do list for things that need to be done today.
9am to 10amFiling Closed Files: All closed files are boxed depending on type, then I label then boxes with the names of all files within box and assign the box a number. Then I make a list of the contents of each box in a book we keep and also in the computer. Then the boxes are putting into storage in number order.
10am to 11amPlease see 9am – 10am, I filed 4 boxes of closed files from 9am to 11a.
11am to 12pmAbstracting medical records: We request a client’s medical records from a doctor. When we receive them, I go through them, pick out the important or relevant facts and type them up in chronological order. This enables the attorneys to get the important medical information about the client’s condition without having to read all the medical records themselves.
12pm to 1pmAbstracting medical records, please see above description.
1pm to 2pmAbstracting medical records, please see above description.
2pm to 3pmOut to Lunch
3pm to 4pmReturn client phone call regarding doctors appointment

Called client to request medical bills.

Called potential client to get info regarding injury and to set up meeting with attorney

4pm to 5pmDiscussion with attorneys regarding status of various client’s case.

Left early to drop a file off at another attorney’s office.

5pm to 6pmHome
6pm to 7pmHome
7pm to 8pmHome
8pm to 9pmHome
9pm to 10pmHome
10pm to 11pmHome
11pm to 12amHome

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
My father is the managing partner

What was the application process?
None

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
N/A

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I was always shown what to do and encouraged to ask lots of questions if I didn’t understand or even if I was just curious about some aspect of a case.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I was walked through my duties by the person who had the job before me and then I shadowed her for a few days. After she left, if I was being asked to do something new, one of my superiors would show me what to do or give me an example of a correctly completed document.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not really, but my college education did prepare me for using the computer programs that we use at the office and for drafting letter in professional wording.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
It’s my father’s law firm, he the managing partner, that’s how I got this job. So that would help, otherwise, you don’t really need any specific schooling or skills, except for the translating.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organized, good with people, well spoken, familiar with Microsoft Word.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Not necessarily education, but it gets easier the longer you do it, or the more familiar you are with the work

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Ask lots of questions when you’re not sure what to do or when you’re starting a new project. Ask until you’re absolutely sure of what you’re doing.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
it wasn’t but it is now. I plan to stay in this position for the time being or until I get a higher paying job doing the same work.

What are your current career goals?
I plan to get my Paralegal degree. I am already doing some Paralegal work but with a degree, I could be making more money. Either at this firm or another one.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Nope, I think that about covers it!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Banquet Server4 years10000Waited tables in restaurant and server for banquets, take orders, bring out food
Prior Job 2Waitress7 years11500Waited tables in a restaurant, took orders from customer, brought food out from kitchen

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.75Indiana UniversityBachelors Degree in Criminal Justice
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/AN/AN/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.