Cia (Male, Age 29) in newtown, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 29 who works as a Cia in newtown, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCia
Salary$37,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week37
Company Size(not answered)
Locationnewtown, NY
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
retail electronics reseller, 1000+ locations

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
assess custoker issues with electronic equipment, provide solutions for repair, work with various hardware and software configurations to make repairs to customer equipment, complete service paperwork electronically

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, 6 sick days, 2 personal days, health ins. 401k, profit sharing

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, i enjoy mentoring others

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
large box store – too big of an area

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amassess work done the shift prior, complete paperwork re:status of work to be done
8am to 9amstart repaird on equiptment
9am to 10amprepare for store opening
10am to 11amfield calls from customers while performing repairs
11am to 12pmfield calls from customers while performing repairs
12pm to 1pmfield calls from customers while performing repairs
1pm to 2pmfield calls from customers while performing repairs
2pm to 3pmcomplete end of day duties, close out service tickets, prepare area for next shift
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper

What was the application process?
resume, electronic application, aptitude test, interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes 3 interviews

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
do not remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
not really, they could not provide me with the technical training

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, i took the training on my own

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
get extensive training in computer repair

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
a= certification

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be open to listenening and taking direction

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
not, i did not desire to be in retail

What are your current career goals?
i desire to return back to an accounting position

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
not really

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1fixed asset accountant5 years35000tracking of company assets ion 600 locati0ons
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.