Landscaper (Male, Age 24) in Clemson, SC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 24 who works as a Landscaper in Clemson, SC. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleLandscaper
Salary$36,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationClemson, SC
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Its a small family business. We have 5 employees, 6 counting the owner. Its a landscaping business, but we provide painting and

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I’m like a foreman, I tell the crew what to do. i also make appointments to do jobs and provide customers with references.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks vacation, 2 paid. 10 sick days annually.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well-compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, i’m in charge of 4 people and have to work with them every day. It’s alright, sometimes i have a hard time with certain people, but those people don’t usually last long. The people that do their jobs right, respect me, and work hard, I have no problem with them. I enjoy working with other people.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I guess it would be considered “in the field”. Sometimes it actually is in a field lol. But I like it, we work outdoors all the time, in yards and gardens. I love being outside so it’s a good fit for me.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI wake up, shower, get dressed, and eat.
8am to 9amI load the truck up with all the equipment, go to get gas for all the mowers and yard tools for the day. Along the way, I pick up the crew.
9am to 10amWe try to arrive at the first house right at 9am, unless the customer requests otherwise. We spend about 15 minutes unloading the truck, and get to work, starting with mowing.
10am to 11amWe’re usually done mowing by 10-1030 depending on the yard size. Then we start with detail work, edging, weed-eater.
11am to 12pmBy 11:30 we’re ready to start cleanup, we blow off driveways, pathways, and then load the truck back up. At 12 we head to lunch
12pm to 1pm(lunch break)
1pm to 2pmWe try to arrive at the first house right at 9am, unless the customer requests otherwise. We spend about 15 minutes unloading the truck, and get to work, starting with mowing.
2pm to 3pmWe’re usually done mowing by 2-2:30 depending on the yard size. Then we start with detail work, edging, weed-eater.
3pm to 4pmBy 3:30 we’re ready to start cleanup, we blow off driveways, pathways, and then load the truck back up. At 4 we either head back home, or if we have a small job, like maintenance, we may go do that.
4pm to 5pmUsually we have some sort of small maintanence or carpentry job to do around 4, or sometimes we head home, and sometimes the previous landscaping job runs over. Either way, we knock off at 5pm sharp.
5pm to 6pmI head home and drop off everyone else on the way.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
My father owns the business.

What was the application process?
Didnt have to, however most of teh crew had to fill out applications

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No I had no interview.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
N/A

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, since its my father, and hes the one that taught me how to do all this stuff when i was a kid.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No, its pretty much basic gardening and painting skills.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
In a way, i suppose it did. The horticulture degree does help out when dealing with exotic plants, or ones that are having a hard time growing.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Graduate middle school if you wanna be on the crew. Graduate high school or get a GED if you want my job. Be willing to work outside, get hot, bust your ass, and probably hate your job til you get used to it after a couple weeks.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills, to deal with customers. Spanish skills, to communicate with other workers. Strength, to lift stuff and do the general labor required.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Not really. An IQ of 70+ works.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Listen to your boss and dont give him any crap. Dont whine about the work being hard. Dont whine about the weather being hot.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It’s part of my career plan in the sense that i planned on being employed. I didnt think this is what i’d be doing when i was a little kid. But like i said, its better than nothing.

What are your current career goals?
My goal is to get out of this job, and find something i really enjoy. I really want to get into the MMJ Research program. Thats my life goal, not just career goal.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Its hot, it sucks, i hate it most days. But it puts food on the table and beer in the fridge. Guess i cant really ask for much more at this point in life.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Cashier1 year6.75I was a cashier at quiznos subs.
Prior Job 2Mechanic1 year250/wkI was a mechanic at Gary’s Garage and Muffler Shop.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2Tri-County TechBiological science
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3Clemson UniversityHorticulture

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.