Consumer Marketing Assistant 

(Female, Age 29) from Bal Harbor, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 29 who works as a Consumer Marketing Assistant in Bal Harbor, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Consumer Marketing Assistant
Salary $35,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Bal Harbor, NY
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Small, outsourced magazine circulation firm.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Assisting the vice president with magazine circulation circulation functions for various clients.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks paid vacation, 4 days sick leave, 50% of health/dental insurance premium, 50% matching 401k, bonuses when company is doing well

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel that my salary should be closer to 40,000

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes- it is something I enjoy depending on the person’s personality. There are some difficult people I do not enjoy working with.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office in a large building on a WONDERFUL street called Coral Way which is full of restaurants and just a few blocks from a major shopping area. I love working in this area, the building is clean and well kept. But I dislike working in a cubicle because there is no privacy.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 3
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
Submitted resume and cover letter,

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
1st interview with former assistant, second interview with boss and former assistant (who was promoted), phone call confirming job offer

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Just to describe education and previous work experience, more personal questions about my personality and ability to handle office politics

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No but it’s the nature of the beast

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Not really- I dove right in

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Definitely, my degree in Professional Writing was broad and included publishing, advertising, and PR concepts that have been most helpful

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
No but I really enjoyed my internship!

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Publishing jobs are easy to find in areas OTHER than Miami. Check major job search engines like Craigslist and write a killer cover letter, make sure you have an excellent resume,etc.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
highly organized, personable, problem solver, client-oriented, innovative, intelligent, hardworking

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I think you would need at least a 2 year degree or 4 years relative work experience

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be prepared to work with various personality types and learn to adapt to your environment as it is constantly changing.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
This is up in the air. I would like to move up in the company but feel my position has been relatively stagnant.

What are your current career goals?
At this point, I am more concerned with being able to earn a living than my initial career goals- sorry, but work has made me realistic!

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It’s not necessarily what I intended but I am doing well in my eyes 😉

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Tutor 2 years 10 hour tutoring college students with writing assignments
Prior Job 2 Copy Editor 6 months 400 per issue Copy editing magazine on a freelance basis

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7 Barry BA Professional Writing
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.