Pastry And Prep Chef (Female, Age 35) in Philadelphia, PA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 35 who works as a Pastry And Prep Chef in Philadelphia, PA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Pastry And Prep Chef
Salary $35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 50
Company Size (not answered)
Location Philadelphia, PA
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A single bar/ full service restaurant. Lunch and Dinner. Not a chain. Emphasis on fresh prepared dinners and fun foods like wings and sliders.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
In the a.m. I prep the salads, burger fixin’s, ect. for the chef’s in the p.m. In the afternoon, I bake and prepare that evenings desserts.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
In the kitchen, I workalone. I like that very much.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
It is a restaurant in it’s own little courtyard in the heart of a nice neighborhood.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 7
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am Open up the restaurant. Check all stations to see what needs to be restocked. Check walk in to see how much product there is to work with
9am to 10am Begin prepping for the evening chefs. I cut up tomatoes, cook mushrooms,bacon, roast peppers, cut up lettuce, carrots, pickles, onions.
10am to 11am Put together sandwiches for the evening
11am to 12pm clean up my station.
12pm to 1pm eat lunch
1pm to 2pm Decide what kind of dessert to make.

prepare and bake cakes

2pm to 3pm cool cakes to unmold
3pm to 4pm frost and finish cakes for service
4pm to 5pm go home
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Sought it out on my own

What was the application process?
I just made a dessert for the owner to sample

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
no

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
n/a

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I knew what to expect.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I had entry level postions at a bakery, hotel kitchen and restaurant before my current position.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I had some technical skills that was necessary to jump right in and get to work.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Take some classes, intern at a restaurant, be prepared to be low man on the totem pole.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Must have technical skills, learn to take direction, be clean and sanitary and not get stressed.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Don’t be a hotshot. Learn to take direction. Be aware it’s high stress.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. It’s what i was born to do

What are your current career goals?
I am very satisfied with where I am at right now. I have just the right amount of responsibility.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I just love what I do

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 entry level 1 year 10.00 hr measured ingrediants, chopped nuts and chocolate.Wrapped finished products.
Prior Job 2 entry level 1 2 years 10.00hr made muffins, ice cream, danish, cheesecakes, plated desserts

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Tyler School of art ceramics
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/a n/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.