Administrative Assistant 

(Female, Age 37) from fallriver, MA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 37 who works as a Administrative Assistant in fallriver, MA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Administrative Assistant
Salary $35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location fallriver, MA
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
10-20 employees and we are alocal office who deals in insurance sales, life-fire-auto

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
filing, typing, fill aquisitions, answer phones and customer service All office work.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under paid I run the office with no help

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with arrogant insurance agents, and they expect me to be their own personal secretary

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My location is fine. the office is a nice enviornment.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 2
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am open up the office and turn on all electronics including coffee pot and look at the days agenda
9am to 10am taking all calls and setting up meetings for agents, setting up interviews for agents, and checking and updating all computer systems
10am to 11am filing all forms and answereing the phone, setting up employment packets for today’s interviews and dealing with a customer that won’t take no for an answer about delaying his policy
11am to 12pm training a new secratary and showing her the systems we use, showing her our filing system
12pm to 1pm lunch at a local resteraunt with co-workers
1pm to 2pm back from lunch and checked on the new girls filing- send her on her break, and check messages
2pm to 3pm put new info on new agents in system, back up all systems and do quarterly progress reports, on all agents
3pm to 4pm send out local mailings for advertising, put an ad in the newspaper for a new months promotion and close up office and go home
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
local newspaper

What was the application process?
paper applicaiton

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, and it entailed 2 interviews with a group at first the to see the head honcho

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked what i could tribute to the company, why I wanted to work there

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, the training was very thorough

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes – to learn their insurance programs and be literate with their offers

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, I have to use a computer everyday and couldn’t with out the schooling

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
there was no internship

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Find a local insurance agent and see if they need any help

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They would have to be personal, type well, and be computer literate

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes a business degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
To stand firm in all your decisions

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I see no movement in the future

What are your current career goals?
I would like to adventually open my own local insurance office and become an agent

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
If you stay in school your rewards can be benificial

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 adm. asst. 2 yrs 28000 administrative assistant- secratary
Prior Job 2 secratary 2yrs 22000 filing,customerservice

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 SMU business
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.